media source avatar
UnknownPublished: 5/28/2023, Last updated: 9/27/2023
link picture

Maryland Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament

page picture
Final Bracket | Boxscore 
OMAHA, Neb. – Top seed Maryland completed an undefeated run through the Big Ten Baseball Tournament, defeating third seed Iowa, 4-0, in the championship game Sunday before 8,957 fans at Charles Schwab Field Omaha.
The Terrapins (41-19), who went 4-0 this week, clinched their first Big Ten Tournament title and receive the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air at noon ET Monday on ESPN2.
Home runs from Kevin Keister and Nick Lorusso in the fifth inning provided all the offense Maryland would need as five Terrapin pitchers combined for a five-hitter. Lorusso was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.
Iowa (42-14) went 3-1 during the tournament and placed four players on the all-tournament team.
All-Tournament Team
1B – Brock Vradenburg, Michigan State
2B – Max Anderson, Nebraska
SS – Michael Seegers, Iowa
3B – Nick Lorusso, Maryland
OF – Kyle Huckstorf, Iowa
OF – Sam Peterson, Iowa
OF – Tito Flores, Michigan
DH – Mitch Voit, Michigan
C – Luke Shliger, Maryland
P – Ty Langenberg, Iowa
P – Jason Savacool, Maryland
P – Will Walsh, Nebraska
Most Outstanding Player
Nick Lorusso, Maryland