media source avatar
UnknownPublished: 5/29/2023, Last updated: 9/27/2023
link picture

Three Big Ten Teams Selected to NCAA Baseball Championship

page picture
ROSEMONT, Ill. – Three Big Ten teams have been selected for the 76th NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, which opens June 2-5 at 16 regional sites. Maryland received the conference's automatic berth after winning the Big Ten Tournament on May 28 while Indiana and Iowa received at-large berths into the 64-team field.
Maryland (41-19) earned a No. 2 seed in the Winston-Salem Regional and will meet No. 3 seed Northeastern (44-14) on Friday at 1 p.m. ET. The game will be aired by ESPN+. The winner will take on either No. 1 seed Wake Forest or No. 4 seed George Mason. The Terrapins are making their third-straight NCAA appearance and their ninth overall.
No. 2 seed Iowa (42-14) encounters No. 3 seed North Carolina (35-22) at the Terre Haute Regional on Friday at 7 p.m. The contest will be carried by the ACC Network. The winner meets either No. 1 Indiana State or No. 4 Wright State. The Hawkeyes will be making their sixth NCAA appearance all-time and their first since 2017.
Indiana (41-18) is the No. 3 seed at the Lexington Regional and takes on No. 2 seed West Virginia (39-18) on Friday at 7 p.m. ESPN+ will broadcast the game. The winner squares off against either No. 1 Kentucky or No. 4 Ball State. The Hoosiers earn their 10th trip to the NCAA Tournament and their first since 2019.
Sixteen teams will advance to eight super regional sites scheduled for June 9-12. The Men's College World Series takes place June 16-26 at Charles Schwab Field Omaha in Omaha, Neb.