media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/27/2024, Last updated: 5/27/2024
link picture

Three Big Ten Teams Qualify for NCAA Baseball Championship

page picture


Three Big Ten teams have been selected for the 77th NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, which opens May 31-June 3 at 16 regional sites. Nebraska received the conference's automatic berth after winning the Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by on May 26 while Illinois and Indiana received at-large berths into the 64-team field.

Nebraska (39-20) earned a No. 2 seed in the Stillwater Regional and will meet No. 3 seed Florida (28-27) on Friday at 3 p.m. ET on ESPN+. The winner will take on either No. 1 seed Oklahoma State or No. 4 seed Niagara. The Cornhuskers are making their 18th NCAA appearance and sixth as a member of the Big Ten.

No. 3 seed Illinois (34-19) encounters No. 2 seed Indiana State (42-13) at the Lexington Regional on Friday at 7 p.m. on ESPN+. The winner meets either No. 1 seed Kentucky or No. 4 seed Western Michigan. The Fighting Illini, who won the Big Ten regular season title, will be making their 13th NCAA appearance all-time and their first since 2019.

Indiana (32-24-1) is the No. 3 seed at the Knoxville Regional and takes on No. 2 seed Southern Mississippi (41-18) on Friday at 1 p.m. on ESPN+. The winner squares off against either No. 1 seed Tennessee or No. 4 seed Northern Kentucky. The Hoosiers earn their 11th trip to the NCAA Tournament and second-straight appearance.

Sixteen teams will advance from the double-elimination regionals to eight super regional sites scheduled for June 7-10. The Men's College World Series takes place June 14-24 at Charles Schwab Field Omaha in Omaha, Neb.