media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 11/2/2023, Last updated: 4/23/2024
link picture

Big Ten Conference Releases 2024 Football Schedule

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference today announced the 2024 football schedule powered by IFS. With the additions of Oregon, UCLA, USC and Washington into the conference, 2024 will be the first season with 18 teams and no divisional format.

The Big Ten Conference announced its Flex Protect XVIII model on October 4, 2023, which features a combination of protected opponents and rotating opponents for universities. Each member institution will continue to play nine intraconference games per season, and teams will play every other conference opponent at least twice – once home and once away – and will play rotating opponents no more than three times in a five-year period.

The 2024 season will conclude with the annual Big Ten Football Championship Game, which will feature the top two teams in the overall conference standings at the end of the regular season, with the winner earning the Big Ten Championship. Tiebreaking procedures will be announced later.

Selected Saturday games in the 2024 season may be adjusted to select Fridays and other special dates, including Labor Day Sunday and Black Friday. The 2025 football schedule will be announced in the future.