media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/2/2023, Last updated: 5/4/2024
link picture

2023 Big Ten Football Championship Game

Everything you need to know about the 2023 Big Ten Football Championship Game that will be played on December 2nd at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

page picture


The city of Indianapolis and Lucas Oil Stadium will play host to the 13th annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on December 2, 2023. The champion of the West Division will be the designated home team for this year's contest and will face the champion of the East Division. Kickoff for the game is set at 8 p.m. ET. The winner will earn the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in one of the six bowls that comprise the College Football Playoff, including the Rose Bowl Game.

FOX will serve as the official broadcast partner of the Big Ten Football Championship Game again in 2023.

Michigan won the Big Ten Championship Game for the second straight year (2021, 2022), while Ohio State (2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020) has claimed five titles. Wisconsin (2011 and 2012) and Michigan State (2013 and 2015) have each won two Big Ten Championship Games, while Penn State was victorious in 2016. Ohio State and Wisconsin lead all schools with six Big Ten Championship Game appearances each, followed by Michigan State with three, Iowa, Michigan and Northwestern with two each, and one title game berth each for Nebraska, Penn State and Purdue.





Grange-Griffin MVP

Dec. 4, 2011

Wisconsin 42,

Michigan State 39

Lucas Oil Stadium

Russell Wilson, QB, Wisconsin

Dec. 2, 2012

Wisconsin 70,

Nebraska 31

Lucas Oil Stadium

Montee Ball, QB, Wisconsin

Dec. 7, 2013

Michigan State 34,

Ohio State 24

Lucas Oil Stadium

Connor Cook, QB, Michigan State

Dec. 6, 2014

Ohio State 59,

Wisconsin 0

Lucas Oil Stadium

Cardale Jones, QB, Ohio State

Dec. 5, 2015

Michigan State 16,

Iowa 13

Lucas Oil Stadium

Connor Cook, QB, Michigan State

Dec. 3, 2016

Penn State 38,

Wisconsin 31

Lucas Oil Stadium

Trace McSorley, QB, Penn State

Dec. 2, 2017

Ohio State 27,

Wisconsin 21

Lucas Oil Stadium

J.K. Dobbins, RB, Ohio State

Dec. 1, 2018

Ohio State 45,

Northwestern 24

Lucas Oil Stadium

Dwayne Haskins Jr., QB, Ohio State

Dec. 7, 2019

Ohio State 34,

Wisconsin 21

Lucas Oil Stadium

Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State

Dec. 19, 2020

Ohio State 22,

Northwestern 10

Lucas Oil Stadium

Trey Sermon, RB, Ohio State

Dec. 4, 2021

Michigan 42,

Iowa 3

Lucas Oil Stadium

Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Michigan

Dec. 3, 2022

Michigan 43,

Purdue 22

Lucas Oil Stadium

Donovan Edwards, RB, Michigan