media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/18/2024, Last updated: 3/21/2024
link picture

Six Big Ten Teams Selected for 2024 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Six Big Ten schools have been selected to compete in the 2024 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship, it was announced Sunday on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Selection Show on CBS. Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin will all be taking part in this year’s tournament. All games will be televised on CBS Sports, TBS, TNT or truTV beginning on Thursday night.

Illinois secured the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier into the tournament and a No. 3 seed in the East region after topping Wisconsin 93-87 in the Big Ten Tournament championship. The Illini will make its 34th tournament appearance on Thursday as it faces Morehead State in Omaha, Neb.
Also on Thursday, Michigan State will make its 37th NCAA Tournament appearance and 26th in a row when the No. 9 seed in the East will meet Mississippi State in Charlotte, N.C.
The other four Big Ten teams will open play on Friday. Purdue will enter the tournament as the No. 1 seed in the Midwest. The Boilermakers will make the short trip to Indianapolis to face the winner of a First Four game between Montana State and Grambling to open their 34th NCAA Tournament.
Wisconsin, the No. 5 seed in the South, and Northwestern, the No. 9 seed in the East, will get started in Brooklyn on Friday. The Badgers will make their 27th tournament appearance when they face James Madison, while the Wildcats will meet Florida Atlantic in the program’s third tournament appearance.
Nebraska will return to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2014 when it faces Texas A&M in Memphis on Friday.
Game times will be announced in the coming days.