media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/18/2024, Last updated: 3/21/2024
link picture

Three Big Ten Teams to Compete in 2024 NIT

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Three Big Ten teams will continue their 2023-24 seasons, as Iowa, Minnesota, and Ohio State have been selected to participate in the 2024 National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

All three teams will open the tournament on Tuesday night, with all of the games broadcast on the ESPN family of networks.

No. 2 seed Ohio State will open the action on Tuesday at 7 p.m ET, when they play host to Cornell on ESPN.

No. 3 seed Iowa will welcome Kansas State to Carver-Hawkeye Arena at 9 p.m. in a game broadcast on ESPN.

Minnesota is the lone Big Ten team to hit the road, as the Gophers will visit Butler a 9 p.m. on ESPNU.

First round play is scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday, March 19 and 20, with the second round scheduled for March 23-24. 

Quarterfinal rounds will be held on March 26 and 27 with four teams advancing to Indianapolis for the semifinals on Tuesday, April 2 at Hinkel Fieldhouse.  The NIT will conclude with the championship game on April 4.