media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/3/2024, Last updated: 4/4/2024
link picture

NABC Tabs Purdue's Zach Edey as National Player of the Year

page picture

PHOENIX, Ariz. – For the second consecutive year, Purdue center Zach Edey has been named National Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the organization announced on Wednesday. The NABC also named Edey its 2024 Pete Newell Big Man of the Year.

He joins Virginia’s Ralph Sampson (1982, 1983) and Duke Jason Williams (2001, 2002) as the award’s only repeat winners and becomes just the second player to earn back-to-back Pete Newell awards, joining Iowa’s Luke Garza (2020, 2021).

Edey has already collected Player of the Year honors from Sporting News and is a finalist for similar accolades from the Associated Press, Naismith Award, Wooden Award, and the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

He is the first player since Oscar Robertson, in 1960, to lead the country in scoring and lead his team to the Final Four. The Toronto, Canada native leads the nation with 25.0 points and ranks second with 12.2 rebounds and 28 double-doubles on the season.

Edey, the 2023 and 2024 Big Ten Player of the Year, is the first player in Big Ten history with 2,400 career points and 1,200 career rebounds and has joined Navy’s David Robinson (1984-87) as the only players in NCAA history with 2,400 career points, 1,200 career rebounds, 200 career blocks and to shoot over 60.0 percent from the field. He currently ranks third in both career points (2,459) and career rebounds (1,299) in Big Ten history.