media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/15/2024, Last updated: 4/16/2024
link picture

All 5 Teams Selected for NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten will be well represented when the NCAA Mane’s Gymnastics Championships get underway this weekend at Ohio State’s Covelli Center. All five Big Ten teams, Illinois, Michigan, Nebraska, Ohio State, and Penn State, are among 12 teams selected to participate in the event.

Big Ten champion Michigan leads the list of conference participants, sporting the third-highest qualifying score this season (413.038). The Big Ten also claims the next four spots on the qualifying list with Illinois (411.813), Nebraska (411.6), Ohio State (406.413), and Penn State (405.175).

Three-time defending NCAA champion Stanford is the top qualifier with a score of 417.025, volowed by Oklahoma (415.5).

The NCAA Championships will begin April 19 (1 and 7 p.m. ET) at the Covelli Center on the campus of Ohio State University with two pre-qualifying sessions consisting of six teams each. The top three finishing teams in each session will advance to the NCAA finals on April 20 (6 p.m. ET). In addition, the top three all-around competitors not on an advancing team, plus the top three individuals in each event not already advancing as a member of a team or in the all-around competition, will also take part in the April 20 finals.

Live coverage of each session will be available on

Current Big Ten programs have won 39 NCAA men’s gymnastics national championships since the meet was first held in 1938, with the most recent Big Ten national champion being Michigan in 2014. Three former conference programs also won one NCAA title each as members of the Big Ten — Chicago (1938), Michigan State (1958) and Iowa (1969).

Last year, four conference teams advanced to the NCAA finals, with Michigan the top Big Ten finisher in second place. Illinois, Nebraska, and Penn State finished in third, fifth, and sixth places, respectively.