media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 11/7/2023, Last updated: 11/8/2023
link picture

Michigan State, Minnesota and Wisconsin Awarded Three Stars

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has announced its Three Stars of the Week for hockey games played Nov. 3-5.

First Star

Gavin O’Connell, Michigan State

Fr. – F – Plymouth, Minn. — Waterloo Black Hawks

  • Scored multiple goals in back-to-back games, helping Michigan State to a pair of wins at No. 13/13 Ohio State on Nov. 3-4

  • Netted the game-winning goal in the series opener and finished with four goals on seven shots as the No. 12/12 Spartans earned their first road conference sweep since 2016

  • Secures the first Big Ten weekly award of his career

  • Last Michigan State Star honoree: Joey Larson (Second Star, Oct. 17, 2023)

Second Star

Rhett Pitlick, Minnesota

Jr. – F – Plymouth, Minn. — Chaska HS

  • Produced a four-point (goal, three assists) weekend as No. 6/6 Minnesota recorded a win and overtime tie versus #14/14 Minnesota Duluth

  • Scored in the series opener and provided two assists on the road; compiled seven shots, a plus-two rating and two blocks against the Bulldogs

  • Collects Star honors for the second time in his career

  • Last Minnesota recipient: Justen Close (First Star, Oct. 24, 2023)

Third Star

Owen Lindmark, Wisconsin

Gr. – F – Naperville, Ill. — U.S. National Team Development Program

  • Tallied two goals, including the game-winner with 3:46 left in regulation, to spark Wisconsin’s 5-4 come-from-behind victory over No. 4/3 Michigan on Nov. 3

  • Followed the next night with four shots, a 58.8 percent faceoff percentage and a game-high five blocked shots in Wisconsin’s 2-1 win at the Kohl Center

  • Receives a weekly Star award for the first time in his career

  • Last Wisconsin selections: Mathieu De St. Phalle (Third Star, Oct. 24, 2023)

2023-24 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars

Oct. 10

First Star: Rutger McGroarty, So., F, MICH

Second Star: Nicolas Müller, 5th, F, MSU

Third Star: Kyle McClellan, Sr., G, WIS

Oct. 17

First Star: Jimmy Snuggerud, So., F, MINN

Second Star: Joey Larson, So., F, MSU

Third Star: Ryan Kirwan, Jr., F, PSU

Oct. 24

First Star: Justen Close, Gr., G, MINN

Second Star: Jake Barczewski, Gr., G, MICH

Third Star: Mathieu De St. Phalle, Sr., F, WIS

Oct. 31

First Star: Logan Terness, Jr., G, OSU

Second Star: T.J. Hughes, So., F, MICH

Third Star: Landon Slaggert, Sr., F, ND

Nov. 7

First Star: Gavin O’Connell, Fr. F, MSU

Second Star: Rhett Pitlick, Jr., F, MINN

Third Star: Owen Lindmark, Gr., F, WIS