media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/16/2023, Last updated: 10/18/2023
link picture

Michigan State, Minnesota and Penn State Collect Three Stars Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has announced its Three Stars of the Week for the opening weekend of men’s ice hockey competition on Oct. 12-14.

First Star

Jimmy Snuggerud, Minnesota

So. – F – Chaska, Minn. — Chaska

  • Scored a pair of game-winning goals in Minnesota’s swept of crosstown St. Thomas

  • Provided the decisive goal 1:24 into overtime in the Gophers’ 6-5 season-opening victory at the Xcel Energy Center on Oct. 13

  • Compiled four goals (including two on the power play), five points and eight shots during the nonconference series

  • NHL first rounder earns third weekly award (2-First Stars, 1-Second Star) of his career

  • Last Minnesota Star honorees: Mike Koster (Second Star, Feb. 28, 2023) and Justen Close (Third Star, Feb. 28, 2023)

Second Star

Joey Larson, Michigan State

So. – F – Brighton, Mich. – Northern Michigan (CCHA)

  • Amassed five points (three goals, two assists) as Michigan State split a road series against Air Force on Oct. 12-13

  • Logged the third hat trick in college hockey this season with a four-point night (three goals, assist) in MSU’s 5-3 over the Falcons

  • Finished with a team-high 11 shots on the weekend

  • First-year transfer collects his first conference weekly honor

  • Last Michigan State honoree: Nicolas Müller (Second Star, Oct. 10, 2023)

Third Star

Ryan Kirwan, Penn State

Jr. – F – DeWitt, N.Y. – Green Bay Gamblers (USHL)

  • Provided goals in back-to-back games to help Penn State record a sweep of ECAC Hockey opponents in upstate New York

  • Netted the game-winning goal and placed seven shots on goal in a 4-2 win at Clarkson on Oct. 13

  • Gave the Nittany Lions breathing room with a third-period goal in a 4-1 victory over St. Lawrence

  • Receives third career Big Ten weekly honor (1-Second Star, 2-Third Stars)

  • Last Penn State Star selections: Kevin Wall (First Star, Jan. 4, 2023) and Liam Souliere (Second Star, Jan. 4, 2023)

2023-24 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars

Oct. 10

First Star: Rutger McGroarty, So., F, MICH

Second Star: Nicolas Müller, 5th, F, MSU

Third Star: Kyle McClellan, Sr., G, WIS

Oct. 17

First Star: Jimmy Snuggerud, So., F, MINN

Second Star: Joey Larson, So., F, MSU

Third Star: Ryan Kirwan, Jr., F, PSU