media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/10/2023, Last updated: 10/11/2023
link picture

Michigan, Michigan State and Wisconsin Claim Three Stars Honors

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has announced its Three Stars of the Week for the opening weekend of men’s ice hockey competition on Oct.7-8.

First Star

Rutger McGroarty, Michigan

So. – F – Lincoln, Neb. — U.S. National Team Development Program

  • Produced a five-point weekend, compiling a goal and four assists for No. 5/4 Michigan

  • Secured his first four-point game with a goal and three assists in Michigan’s 5-4 win over No. 18/20 Providence in Ann Arbor

  • Extended his points streak to 10 games (dating back to last season)

  • The 2022 NHL First Round Draft pick earns the first weekly award of his career

  • Last Michigan Star honoree: Luke Hughes (First Star, Feb. 14, 2023)

Second Star

Nicolas Müller, Michigan State

5th – F – Arisdorf, Switzerland – Modo (Sweden J20 SuperElit)

  • Amassed a team-best four points (goal, three assists) as No. 9/9 Michigan State swept Lake Superior State in East Lansing

  • Scored the Spartans’ first goal of the season on Saturday and followed with two assists on Sunday, providing a helper on the game-winning goal

  • Compiled seven shots, a plus-three rating and 18 faceoff wins in two games against the Lakers

  • The two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection receives his second career Star honor

  • Last Michigan State honoree: Dylan St. Cyr (First Star, Feb. 7, 2023)

Third Star

Kyle McClellan, Wisconsin

Sr. – G – Manchester, Mo. – Mercyhurst (Atlantic Hockey)

  • Posted back-to-back shutouts against Augustana at the Kohl Center Oct. 7-8

  • Became first Badger goaltender since 1963 to register consecutive shutouts against the same opponent

  • Made 25 saves in the season opener and followed with 18 saves on Sunday; kept the Vikings off the scoreboard while facing 11 power plays on the weekend

  • Collects his second career Big Ten weekly award (2 Third Stars)

  • Last Wisconsin selection: Kyle McClellan (Third Star, Feb. 14, 2023) 

2023-24 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars

Oct. 10

First Star: Rutger McGroarty, So., F, MICH

Second Star: Nicolas Müller, 5th, F, MSU

Third Star: Kyle McClellan, Sr., G, WIS