media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/31/2023, Last updated: 11/2/2023
link picture

Michigan, Notre Dame and Ohio State Earn Three Stars Honors

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has announced its Three Stars of the Week for hockey games played Oct. 26-28.

First Star

Logan Terness, Ohio State

Jr. – G – North Vancouver, British Columbia — Trail Smoke Eaters

  • Stopped 64 of 66 shots (.967 save percentage) and helped Ohio State finish 9-for-9 on the penalty kill in a road series against No. 20 Omaha

  • Made 34 saves and didn’t allow a goal in a seven-round shootout in Ohio State’s 2-2 overtime tie on Oct. 27

  • Closed the series with a 30-save shutout, recording a 0.96 goals-against average for the weekend

  • The UConn transfer earns his first Big Ten Weekly Star award

  • Last Ohio State Star honoree: Jake Wise (Third Star, Feb. 21, 2023)

Second Star

T.J. Hughes, Michigan

So. – F – T.J. Hughes – Brooks Bandits

  • Compiled eight points on three goals and five assists in Michigan’s sweep of Lindenwood in Ann Arbor, Mich.

  • Stockpiled five points (two goals, three assists) in a 10-1 Wolverine victory on Oct. 28

  • Produced nine shots, a plus-four rating and won 69 percent of his faceoffs in the series

  • Honored for the first time with a Big Ten Star award

  • Last Michigan recipient: Jake Barczewski (Second Star, Oct. 24, 2023)

Third Star

Landon Slaggert, Notre Dame

Sr. – F – South Bend, Ind. — U.S. National Team Development Program

  • Registered back-to-back multiple-goal games as Notre Dame swept a nonconference home series versus Mercyhurst

  • Helped the Irish rally from a two-goal, third period deficit by scoring the overtime game-winner in a 4-3 victory on Oct. 26

  • Has seven goals on the season, tying for second-most in the NCAA

  • Garners first-ever Big Ten Star award

  • Last Notre Dame selections: Drew Bavaro (First Star, Feb. 28, 2023)

2023-24 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars

Oct. 10

First Star: Rutger McGroarty, So., F, MICH

Second Star: Nicolas Müller, 5th, F, MSU

Third Star: Kyle McClellan, Sr., G, WIS

Oct. 17

First Star: Jimmy Snuggerud, So., F, MINN

Second Star: Joey Larson, So., F, MSU

Third Star: Ryan Kirwan, Jr., F, PSU

Oct. 24

First Star: Justen Close, Gr., G, MINN

Second Star: Jake Barczewski, Gr., G, MICH

Third Star: Mathieu De St. Phalle, Sr., F, WIS

Oct. 31

First Star: Logan Terness, Jr., G, OSU

Second Star: T.J. Hughes, So., F, MICH

Third Star: Landon Slaggert, Sr., F, ND