media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/24/2023, Last updated: 10/25/2023
link picture

Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin Receive Three Stars Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has announced its Three Stars of the Week for hockey games played Oct. 19-21.


First Star

Justen Close, Minnesota

Gr. – G – Kindersley, Saskatchewan. — Kindersley Klippers

  • Shutout No. 5/5 North Dakota with 25 saves in Minnesota’s 4-0 win on Oct. 20

  • Compiled a 1.01 goals-against average and .966 save percentage (stopping 57 of 59 shots) in a road series versus the Fighting Hawks

  • Helped the Gopher penalty-killing unit finish 10-for-10 on the weekend

  • Earns first weekly award of the season and the sixth of his career (3-First Star, 2-Second Star, 1-Third Star)

  • Last Minnesota Star honoree: Jimmy Snuggerud (First Star, Oct. 17, 2023)  

Second Star

Jake Barczewski, Michigan

Gr. – G – O’Fallon, Mo. – Canisius

  • Led Michigan to a four-point weekend versus Ohio State by turning away 67 of 70 shots for a .957 save percentage

  • Held the Buckeyes to a pair of even-strength goals in the series and earned his 100th collegiate start

  • Finished with 35 saves in Saturday’s 2-2 tie in Ann Arbor, Mich.

  • The Canisius transfer receives his first Three Stars honor

  • Last Michigan recipient: Rutger McGroarty (First Star, Oct. 10, 2023)  

Third Star

Mathieu De St. Phalle, Wisconsin

Sr. – F – Greenwich, Conn. – Chicago Steel

  • Provided game-winning assists both nights in Wisconsin’s road sweep of No. 17/17 Michigan Tech Oct. 20-21

  • Registered back-to-back multiple-point games and finished plus-3 on the weekend

  • Scored a power play goal on Saturday as Wisconsin improved to 5-1-0, marking its best start since the 2004-05 season

  • Garners first weekly award of the season and the third of his career (3-Third Star)

  • Last Wisconsin selections: Kyle McClellan (Third Star, Oct. 10, 2023)


2023-24 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars

Oct. 10

First Star: Rutger McGroarty, So., F, MICH

Second Star: Nicolas Müller, 5th, F, MSU

Third Star: Kyle McClellan, Sr., G, WIS 

Oct. 17

First Star: Jimmy Snuggerud, So., F, MINN

Second Star: Joey Larson, So., F, MSU

Third Star: Ryan Kirwan, Jr., F, PSU

Oct. 24

First Star: Justen Close, Gr., G, MINN

Second Star: Jake Barczewski, Gr., G, MICH

Third Star: Mathieu De St. Phalle, Sr., F, WIS