media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/9/2024, Last updated: 4/10/2024
link picture

Week 25 Hockey Release

page picture


• Michigan sets its sights on a national championship as the 2023-24 college hockey season comes to a close April 11-13 at the NCAA Frozen Four in Saint Paul, Minn. Michigan will take on overall No. 1 seed Boston College on Thursday at 8:30 p.m. ET in the Xcel Energy Center. The game will be preceded by No. 3 seed Denver versus No. 2 seed Boston U. at 5 p.m. ET. The Xcel Energy Center, home to the NHL’s Minnesota Wild, is hosting the Frozen Four for the fourth time (2002, 2011, 2018, 2024). Saint Paul will be conducting its seventh Frozen Four and the Twin Cities holding the event for the ninth time.

• Michigan has captured nine NCAA titles (1948, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1964, 1996, 1998) and with two wins this week, can take over sole possession of the all-time lead — the Wolverines are currently tied with Denver. The NCAA will crown its 76th champion on Saturday as the title game begins at 6 p.m. ET.

• Since Big Ten Hockey was formed in 2013-14, the conference has sent 10 teams to the Frozen Four, including Michigan three-straight years. Three teams have advanced to the championship game as the conference looks to crown its first national champion.

Big Ten Appearances in the Frozen Four (since 2014)Michigan — 2018, 2022, 2023, 2024Minnesota — 2014, 2022, 2023Notre Dame — 2017, 2018Ohio State — 2018

NCAA National Semifinal — Michigan (23-14-3) vs. Boston College (33-5-1)No. 10/4-ranked Michigan earned a trip to the Frozen Four after defeating North Dakota (4-3) and Michigan State (5-2) to capture the Maryland Heights (Mo.) Regional title on March 31. Dylan Duke was named Most Outstanding Player of the regional and was joined on the all-regional team by Jake Barczewski, Gavin Brindley, T.J. Hughes, Frank Nazar III and Marshall Warren. Michigan State’s Artyom Levshunov was also named to the team. Michigan owns a 12-7 record all-time versus Boston College, including a 4-2 mark in the NCAA Tournament. The Wolverines are 4-1 against BC in the NCAA semifinals.

• Michigan State’s Adam Nightingale and Michigan’s Brandon Naurato have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, presented annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Head Coach of the Year. Nightingale led the Spartans to the Big Ten Championship, the Big Ten Tournament title and was chosen Big Ten Coach of the Year. Naurato, a Penrose finalist for the second-straight year, has guided the Wolverines to the Frozen Four and a 5-1 postseason record. The winner will be announced Wednesday.

• National awards recipients will be revealed on Friday, highlighted by the Hobey Baker Memorial Award announcement at 6 p.m. ET (NHL Network) at the RiverCentre Convention Center in Saint Paul. The Hobey is given to the top player in college hockey. Other awards to be handed out include the Mike Richter Award (top goaltender), Tim Taylor Award (top rookie), Derek Hines Award (unsung hero), the Hockey Humanitarian Award (finest citizen) and the AHCA/CCM All-America Teams.