media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/4/2024, Last updated: 4/4/2024
link picture

Indiana Sweeps Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Postseason Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its 2024 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving postseason award recipients on Thursday, as selected by the conference’s head coaches.  

Indiana’s Brendan Burns was named Swimmer of the Year, while teammate Carson Tyler was selected as Diver of the Year. The Hoosiers’ Ray Looze and Drew Johansen were also named Men’s Swim and Diving Coaches of the Year.  

This is the third consecutive Swimmer of the Year accolade for Burns, while Tyler earns his first honor. Looze collects his eighth Big Ten Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year accolade, with Johansen earning Diving Coach of the Year recognition for the fifth time.  

Burns defended his 100-yard backstroke National Championship, placing first in a time of 43.86. Burns finished on the podium in the 200-yard backstroke (seventh) and the 200-yard butterfly (eighth).  

Tyler repeated as the NCAA platform diving champion with a score of 515.75, Indiana’s best-ever score at an NCAA Championship. Tyler was also the three-meter National Champion and finished third on the one-meter, earning the CSCAA Diver of the Year award on April 1.  

Looze led the Hoosiers to a fourth-place finish at last week’s 2024 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, the program’s fifth top five finish in the last six years. The Hoosiers collected three national championships among their eight medals, with 14 Hoosiers combining for 43 All-America honors, Indiana’s most since 19 athletes from the 1974 team who earned 50 honors as part of a second-place team finish.  

Johansen led the Hoosiers to a program record six diving medals of the nine available at the NCAA Championships, including two gold, two silver and two bronze. Indiana’s diving trio combined 121 points on the boards, eclipsing 100 points in back-to-back NCAA Championships.  

Looze, Johansen and the Hoosiers also claimed their 30th Big Ten championship in February, winning eight swimming events and two diving events to capture the program’s third straight Big Ten championship.