media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/3/2024, Last updated: 3/3/2024
link picture

Indiana Wins Third Consecutive Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship

page picture

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Indiana men’s swimming and diving team claimed its 30th Big Ten championship and sixth in the last eight seasons on Saturday night at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio.  

The Hoosiers captured their third consecutive title with 1,520 points, followed by Ohio State with 1,226 points. Michigan finished third (1,153.5 points), Wisconsin fourth (1,044.5), Minnesota fifth (849.5), Northwestern sixth (725), Penn State seventh (683) and Purdue eighth (651.5).  

Indiana won eight swimming events – the 200 medley relay (Brendan Burns, Finlay Brooks, Tomer Frankel, Gavin Wight), the 800 free relay (Rafael Miroslaw, Frankel, Kai Van Westering, Burns), the 400 medley relay (Burns, Joshua Matheny, Frankel, Rafael Miroslaw), the 100 butterfly (Frankel), the 100 backstroke (Burns), the 200 backstroke (Burns), the 200 breaststroke (Jassen Yep) and the 400 free relay (Frankel, Wight, Miroslaw, Mikkel Lee).  

Carson Tyler won the 3-meter with 453.90 points, and platform with 462.60 points.  

Tyler was named Diver of the Championships for the second consecutive year, while Michigan’s Gal Cohen Groumi was named Swimmer of the Championships and the Wolverines’ Colin Geer was named Freshman of the Year, following a vote by the conference coaches.

The complete list of individual award recipients, all-conference honorees and Sportsmanship Award selections are listed below. 


Freshman of the Year: Colin Geer, Michigan 

Swimmer of the Championship: Gal Cohen Groumi, Michigan 

Diver of the Championship: Carson Tyler, Indiana 

All-Big Ten First Team 

Finlay Brooks, Indiana  

Brendan Burns, Indiana  

Tomer Frankel, Indiana  

Mikkel Lee, Indiana  

Joshua Matheny, Indiana  

Rafael Miroslaw, Indiana  

Carson Tyler, Indiana  

Kai Van Westering, Indiana  

Gavin Wight, Indiana  

Jassen Yep, Indiana  


Gal Cohen Groumi, Michigan  

Bence Szabados, Michigan  


YuTong Wang, Minnesota  


Sam Campbell, Ohio State  

Tomas Navikonis, Ohio State   


Mariano Lazzerini, Penn State  


Yigit Aslan, Wisconsin  

Andrew Benson, Wisconsin  

Dominik Mark Torok, Wisconsin  

Christopher Morris, Wisconsin  

Taiko Torepe-Ormsby, Wisconsin  

Ben Wiegand, Wisconsin 


All-Big Ten Second Team 

Toby Barnett, Indiana  

Quentin Henninger, Indiana  


Eitan Ben-Shitrit, Michigan  

Brendan Fitzpatrick, Michigan  

Tyler Ray, Michigan  

Jack Wilkening, Michigan   


Bar Soloveychik, Minnesota  


Alex Axon, Ohio State  

Tristan Jankovics, Ohio State  

Alex Metzler, Ohio State  


Victor Baganha, Penn State  

Matthew Bittner, Penn State  

Cooper Morley, Penn State  


Jordan Rzepka, Purdue 

Sportsmanship Honorees

Jassen Yep, Indiana 

Yugo Tsukikawa, Michigan

William Christenson, Minnesota 

Andrew Martin, Northwestern

Evan Fentress, Ohio State 

Kevin Sullivan, Penn State 

Charles King, Purdue

Jake DiMartile, Wisconsin