media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 11/12/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

Indiana wins 2023 Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament Championship

page picture

Box Score  |  All-Tournament Team  |  Tournament Central

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Top seeded Indiana raised its 16th Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament title today, as the Hoosiers topped No. 2 seed Penn State 1-0 in the championship match at Bill Armstrong Stadium in Bloomington, Ind. With the victory, Indiana will be the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier for the 2023 NCAA Tournament.

After back-to-back championship game losses, the Hoosiers have now won four tournament titles in the last six seasons.

Indiana junior forward Samuel Sarver scored the game’s lone goal and was named Offensive Player of the Tournament. Penn State fifth-year goaltender Kris Shakes was named Defensive Player of the Tournament after recording five saves in the losing effort. 

Sarver put the home side on the board in the 38th minute, as his right-footed shot curled around Shakes, finding the side netting. 

While the match featured just one goal, there was no shortage of offense. The teams combined for 30 shots, including nine on target, and 10 corner kicks. The Hoosiers outshot the Nittany Lions 18-12, notching nine shots in each half, while Indiana forced six corner kicks to four for the visitors. 

Senior goaltender JT Harms tallied a pair of saves for Indiana, recording his seventh clean sheet of the season. 

The announcement of the 48-team field for the 2023 NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship will be made at 1 p.m. ET Monday on

2023 Big Ten Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team

Hugo Bacharach, Indiana

Maouloune Goumballe, Indiana

Samuel Sarver, Indiana

Jason Bucknor, Michigan

Elijah Howe, Michigan State

Nigel Prince, Northwestern

Deylen Vellios, Ohio State

Kris Shakes, Penn State

Peter Mangione, Penn State

Ola Maeland, Rutgers

Max Keenan, Wisconsin

Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Tournament: Samuel Sarver, Indiana

Defensive Player of the Tournament: Kris Shakes, Penn State