media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 8/21/2023, Last updated: 9/27/2023
link picture

Maryland Tabbed as Men's Soccer Preseason Favorite

page picture


 Maryland has been selected to win the 2023 Big Ten Conference Men’s Soccer championship, according to a poll of the league’s head coaches released on Monday. 

Ranked No. 14 in the Unites Soccer Coaches Preseason Top 25 Poll, the Terrapins were picked first in the 2023 Big Ten Preseason Poll by the conference’s nine coaches. 2022 NCAA runner-up Indiana was chosen second, with Ohio State third. 

Fresh off the program’s first Big Ten Tournament title, Rutgers claimed the fourth spot, with Penn State rounding out the top five.

The conference also unveiled the 2023 Big Ten Players to watch List on Monday, as selected by the league’s coaches. Included in the list are five student-athletes who earned all-conference recognition in 2022. Among last season’s honorees are 2022 Midfielder of the Year Laurence Wooten from Ohio State and Co-Rookie of the Year from Michigan State, Jonathan Stout. 

The 2023 Big Ten Men’s Soccer season kicks off this weekend, as all nine teams will take the pitch on Thursday. All nine will also return to action for a second contest between Sunday and Tuesday. 

The complete 2022 Big Ten Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll and Players to Watch List can be found below:

2023 Big Ten Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll

1.    Maryland

2.    Indiana

3.    Ohio State

4.    Rutgers

5.    Penn State

6.    Wisconsin

7.    Michigan State

8.    Northwestern

9.    Michigan

2023 Big Ten Players to Watch

Patrick McDonald, Jr., M, Indiana

Collins Oduro, Fr., F, Indiana

Sam Sarver, Jr., F, Indiana 

Stefan Copetti, Sr., F, Maryland

Alex Nitzl, Sr., D/M, Maryland

Bjarne Thiesen, Gr., D, Maryland

Bryce Blevins, Sr., M, Michigan

Jason Bucknor, Jr., D, Michigan

Louis Rogers, Sr., M, Michigan

Ugo Achara, Gr., F, Northwestern 

Jason Gajadhar, So., M, Northwestern 

Justin Weiss, Sr., F, Northwestern

Greyson Mercer, Sr., F, Michigan State

Jake Spadafora, So., F, Michigan State 

Jonathan Stout, So., M, Michigan State

Anthony Samways, Jr., D, Ohio State 

Deylen Vellios, Sr., D, Ohio State 

Laurence Wootton, Sr., M, Ohio State

Femi Awodesu, Sr., D, Penn State

Peter Mangione, Sr., M, Penn State 

Kris Shakes, Gr., GK, Penn State

Matthew Acosta, Jr., M, Rutgers

Jason Bouregy, Sr., F, Rutgers 

Joey Zalinsky, Jr., D, Rutgers

Tim Bielic, Gr., M, Wisconsin 

Nate Crockford, Jr., GK, Wisconsin 

Maxwell Keenan, Sr., M, Wisconsin