media source avatar
UnknownPublished: 11/14/2022, Last updated: 11/7/2023
link picture

Rutgers Wins 2022 Men's Soccer Big Ten Tournament Championship

page picture
Box Score  |  All-Tournament Team  |  Tournament Central

PISCATAWAY, N.J. – Second-seeded Rutgers earned its first Big Ten Conference Men’s Soccer Tournament title on Sunday with a 3-1 win over No. 4 seed Indiana in the championship match at Yurcak Field in Piscataway, N.J. With the victory, Rutgers will be the Big Ten Conference’s automatic qualifier into the 2022 NCAA Tournament.

Today’s results ties for the third highest scoring Big Ten Championship game in conference tournament history and highest scoring since 2010, when Michigan topped Penn State 4-1.

The Scarlet Knights (10-4-6) made the most of their first title game appearance, earning the school’s first Big Ten men’s team championship. 

Rutgers senior forward MD Myers was named Offensive Player of the Big Ten Tournament after recording a pair of assists in Sunday's championship match. Fellow senior Hugo Le Guennec anchored the Scarlet Knights’ defensive effort to claim Defensive Player of the Big Ten Tournament.

Rutgers grabbed an early lead, as Myers and senior Jackson Temple connected before finding sophomore Matthew Acosta, whose one-timer found the back of the net in the fourth minute. The Hoosiers (10-4-6) leveled the score in the 38th minute, as redshirt senior Ryan Wittenbrink’s corner kick service found sophomore Patrick McDonald on the back post.

The Scarlet Knights regained the lead in the 54th minute, when junior Ola Maeland bent a corner kick service just inside the far right post for a 2-1 lead. Freshman Ian Abbey sealed the championship for Rutgers with an 85th minute marker, assisted by Myers.

While both sides recorded 14 shots on the day, Rutgers put more than half of its attempts target, while only five Indiana shots found their mark.

Rutgers’ freshman goaltender Ciaran Dalton recorded the victory with four saves, while Indiana’s junior netminder JT Harms notched five saves.

Both teams will learn their NCAA Tournament fates on Monday, when the NCAA broadcasts the 2022 NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament Selection Show on Monday at 1 p.m. (ET) live on
2022 Big Ten Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team
Ryan Wittenbrink, Indiana
Nyk Sessock, Indiana
Malcolm Johnston, Maryland
Owen Finnerty, Michigan State
Jason Gajadhar, Northwestern
Xavier Green, Ohio State
Jalen Watson, Penn State
Ciaran Dalton, Rutgers
Jackson Temple, Rutgers
Chris Tiao, Rutgers
Aron Saevarsson, Wisconsin
Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Tournament: MD Myers, Rutgers
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Hugo Le Guennec, Rutgers