media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 6/22/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

2023-24 Big Ten Conference Women’s Basketball Opponents Announced

page picture
ROSEMONT, Ill. (June 22, 2023) – The Big Ten Conference unveiled a full breakdown of conference opponents for all 14 schools for the 2023-24 women’s basketball season. Each member institution will play an 18-game conference schedule, facing five member institutions both home and away and playing the eight remaining schools once. Of the single-play opponents, member institutions will play four at home and four on the road.


The 2023-24 Big Ten Conference women’s basketball season will culminate March 6-10, 2024, with the 31st Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, which will be played for the second consecutive season at the Target Center in Minneapolis. Last year’s Big Ten Tournament set a record for total attendance (47,923), featured three of the 10 largest single-session crowds in tournament history, including a record-setting 9,505 fans for the championship game (won for the second year in a row by Iowa, 105-72 over Ohio State), and averaged 6,846 fans per session (the tournament’s highest attendance since 2008).


The Big Ten is coming off a historic 2022-23 season that saw a conference record-tying seven schools selected for the NCAA Tournament, winning a record-setting 13 NCAA postseason games and highlighted by Iowa’s run to the 2023 NCAA national championship game. In addition, the Big Ten made history by sending three teams (Iowa, Maryland and Ohio State) to the NCAA Elite Eight for the first time since the tournament debuted in 1982. Five Big Ten schools were ranked in the final Associated Press and WBCA (Women’s Basketball Coaches Association)/USA Today polls, including four of the top seven (No. 2 Iowa, No. 5 Maryland, No. 6 Ohio State and No. 7 Indiana) in the year-end coaches’ poll.


Indiana is the defending Big Ten champion, earning its first outright conference title last season (and first championship of any kind since a shared crown in 1983) with a 16-2 conference record, finishing one game ahead of Iowa and Maryland.


“There is an incredible amount of energy, enthusiasm and passion for Big Ten women’s basketball,” said Megan Kahn, Big Ten Vice President, Women’s Basketball. “Building off last season’s success, we have tremendous momentum and optimism about what lies ahead for the Big Ten in 2023-24. We are excited to unveil these matchups and hope our fans share in that excitement as we build toward what we believe will be another historic year for the conference.”


Six Big Ten schools are ranked or under consideration in the espnW “Way Too Early” Top 25 preseason poll for the 2023-24 season — No. 3 Iowa, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 7 Indiana, No. 17 Maryland and No. 25 Nebraska, with Illinois also considered.


The complete list of Big Ten Conference single-play and home/away opponents follows, while dates, times and television coverage will be announced at a later date.



Home: Minnesota, Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Away: Iowa, Michigan State, Penn State, Purdue

Home/Away: Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska, Northwestern



Home: Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Penn State

Away: Nebraska, Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Northwestern, Purdue



Home: Illinois, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State

Away: Maryland, Northwestern, Purdue, Rutgers

Home/Away: Indiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Wisconsin



Home: Iowa, Northwestern, Purdue, Wisconsin

Away: Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska

Home/Away: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers



Home: Maryland, Minnesota, Purdue, Wisconsin

Away: Indiana, Iowa, Northwestern, Penn State

Home/Away: Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Rutgers



Home: Illinois, Maryland, Nebraska, Northwestern

Away: Indiana, Iowa, Penn State, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers



Home: Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue

Away: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Rutgers

Home/Away: Iowa, Michigan State, Nebraska, Penn State, Wisconsin



Home: Indiana, Maryland, Northwestern, Rutgers

Away: Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Purdue



Home: Iowa, Michigan, Ohio State, Purdue

Away: Maryland, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska

Home/Away: Illinois, Indiana, Penn State, Rutgers, Wisconsin



Home: Indiana, Nebraska, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Away: Illinois, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue

Home/Away: Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State



Home: Illinois, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska

Away: Indiana, Iowa, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Maryland, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue



Home: Illinois, Iowa, Ohio State, Rutgers

Away: Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern

Home/Away: Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska, Penn State, Wisconsin



Home: Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Penn State

Away: Illinois, Nebraska, Ohio State, Purdue

Home/Away: Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Wisconsin



Home: Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska, Penn State

Away: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State

Home/Away: Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue, Rutgers


The Big Ten Conference ( is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching, and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten Conference has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness, and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten Conference institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten Conference sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013.