media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/5/2024, Last updated: 4/6/2024
link picture

Iowa's Caitlin Clark Voted 2024 USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Winner

page picture

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Iowa senior guard Caitlin Clark earned another national laurel on Friday by being named the 2024 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award winner as the nation's outstanding women's college basketball player, the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced. 

Clark is the Big Ten Conference's first student-athlete to win the award twice. She joins fellow Hawkeye All-American Megan Gustafson (2019) as the only Big Ten recipients of the honor. The three-time Big Ten Player of the Year is nearing a sweep of all the major national player of the year awards, having already recieved the Naismith Trophy, Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Wade Trophy, Associated Press Player of the Year and The Athletic Player of the Year.  With more award announcements to come, the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer in college basketball history has the opportunity to become the only two-time unanimous national player of the year selection in Big Ten Conference women's basketball history. 

Clark owns 3,800+ career points and recently became the first Division I player to record 1,000+ points in back-to-back seasons. A native of West Des Moines, Iowa, she leads the nation in assists (9.0 apg) and scoring (32.0 ppg), the first player to finish first in both categories in consecutive seasons. She is also the only player in NCAA DI men’s or women’s basketball history to lead her conference in scoring and assists in four consecutive seasons.

Iowa is set for its second straight NCAA Women’s Final Four and Clark heads into the weekend with an NCAA single-season scoring record of 1,183 points. The Hawkeyes (33-4) will face UConn in the second NCAA national semifinal at approximately 9:30 p.m. ET on Friday live on ESPN from Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland.

2023-24 Postseason Awards

  • Naismith Trophy Recipient 

  • USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Recipient

  • WBCA Wade Trophy Recipient

  • AP National Player of the Year

  • The Athletic National Player of the Year

  • ESPN National Player of the Year

  • USA Today National Player of the Year

  • Sporting News National Player of the Year

  • Honda Sport Award Recipient

  • AP First Team All-America

  • USBWA First Team All-America

  • WBCA All-America Team

  • The Athletic First Team All-America  

  • Wooden Award All-America Team

  • ESPN All-America Team

  • USA Today All-America Team

  • Sporting News First Team All-America

  • CSC Academic All-District

  • Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player

  • Consensus Big Ten Player of the Year

  • Unanimous First Team All-Big Ten