media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 1/30/2024, Last updated: 1/31/2024
link picture

Big Ten Conference Announces Future Basketball Scheduling Formats

page picture

ROSEMONT, Illinois – As part of ongoing preparations for the addition of four new member institutions during the 2024-25 academic year, the Big Ten Conference on Tuesday announced details regarding future regular- and postseason competition structures for men’s and women’s basketball. 

Beginning next season, both the Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournament fields will expand to 15 teams (from 14), a format that maintains the five-day schedule of the event, provides access to all teams in contention for postseason invitations, and will maintain a double bye for each of the top four seeds while seeds 5-9 will receive a single bye.

Both the men’s and women’s conference schedules will remain at 20 and 18 contests, respectively, for each school. This allows for non-conference scheduling flexibility, is consistent with peer schedule formats and maximizes opportunities for NCAA postseason berths. Single-play home/away locations will rotate annually, and two-play opponents will be determined with consideration for competitive balance, geography and rivalries. 

The 2024 Big Ten Women’s and Men’s Basketball Tournaments will be hosted at Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The women’s event begins on Wednesday, March 6, with the championship game scheduled for Sunday, March 10, and airing on CBS for the first time in its history. The men’s tournament tips off on Wednesday, March 13, with the title being handed out on Sunday, March 17.

Fans wishing to purchase all-session tickets within their university’s reserved fan block are encouraged to contact their school’s ticket office. Tickets also are available at the Target Center box office or online at