media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/10/2024, Last updated: 4/10/2024
link picture

Caitlin Clark Sweeps National Player of the Year Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Iowa senior guard Caitlin Clark completed a sweep of all major national player of the year awards on Tuesday when she was selected as the recipient of the 2024 Wooden Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding women’s basketball player who achieves tremendous on-court success, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced.

With the announcement, Clark is the only Big Ten Conference women’s basketball player unanimously chosen as the National Player of the Year in consecutive seasons after also sweeping the 2023 awards. Within the past month, she has been honored by the Associated Press, Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (Wade Trophy), United States Basketball Writers Association (Ann Meyers Drysdale Award), Naismith Trophy, Honda Sports Award and The Athletic.

In addition, Clark was selected as the recipient of the Nancy Lieberman Award (nation’s top point guard) for the third year in a row. She also earned national player of the year laurels from USA Today, ESPN and Sporting News.

The NCAA’s all-time leading scorer in college basketball history finished the season leading the nation in points (31.6 ppg) and assists (8.9 apg). Clark became the first player to finish first in points and assists in back-to-back seasons. She is the first Division I player to record 1,000+ points in consecutive seasons and the only player in NCAA DI men’s or women’s basketball history to lead their conference in scoring and assists in four straight seasons. Clark amassed 3,900+ points, 1,100+ assists and 980+ rebounds during her record-setting career, the only player in DI history to do so.

Iowa (34-5) became the first Big Ten Conference program to advance to the NCAA national championship game in back-to-back seasons. The Hawkeyes tied the Big Ten’s single-season record with 34 wins.

2023-24 Postseason Awards

  • Wooden Award Recipient

  • Nancy Lieberman Award Recipient

  • Honda Sport Award Recipient

  • Naismith Trophy Recipient 

  • USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Recipient

  • WBCA Wade Trophy Recipient

  • AP National Player of the Year

  • The Athletic National Player of the Year

  • ESPN National Player of the Year

  • USA Today National Player of the Year

  • Sporting News National Player of the Year

  • AP First Team All-America

  • USBWA First Team All-America

  • WBCA All-America Team

  • The Athletic First Team All-America  

  • Wooden Award All-America Team

  • ESPN All-America Team

  • USA Today All-America Team

  • Sporting News First Team All-America

  • CSC Academic All-District

  • Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player

  • Consensus Big Ten Player of the Year

  • Unanimous First Team All-Big Ten