media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/19/2024, Last updated: 3/21/2024
link picture

Four Big Ten Standouts Receive USBWA All-America Laurels

page picture
ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference had four women’s basketball student-athletes selected for All-America recognition by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA), the organization announced Tuesday.
Iowa senior guard Caitlin Clark earned first team All-America honors from the USBWA for the fourth time in her career, the first Iowa women's basketball player to achieve the feat. The Big Ten Conference’s Player of the Year and Big Ten Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player, Clark leads the nation with 31.9 points and 8.9 assists per game. This season, Clark became the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer for both women and men and currently has 3,771 career points. The West Des Moines, Iowa native was named National Player of the Year for the second consecutive season on March 6 by The Athletic.
Indiana graduate student forward Mackenzie Holmes received second team All-America recognition. Holmes, a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection, earned honors from the USBWA for the third time in her career.
Ohio State graduate student guard Jacy Sheldon secured third team All-America laurels, the first time in her career being honored by the organization. Sheldon was a first team All-Big Ten member this season, including a unanimous selection by Big Ten coaches.
Sophomore Ohio State forward Cotie McMahon, a first team All-Big Ten performer, was an honorable mention All-America pick for her first recognition from the USBWA.