media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/3/2024, Last updated: 4/4/2024
link picture

Iowa’s Caitlin Clark Wins 2024 Naismith Trophy

page picture

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Iowa senior guard Caitlin Clark was selected as the 2024 recipient of the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy as the nation’s outstanding women’s college basketball player, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday during a press conference at the Key Bank Club in the Cleveland Browns Stadium.

Clark, the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer in college basketball history, is the first player to win the award in consecutive seasons since UConn’s Breanna Stewart did so from 2014-16 and eighth overall. She is just the 10th women’s basketball player to earn the award multiple times.

Clark is the first Big Ten Conference student-athlete to receive the award in back-to-back years. She joins former Iowa All-America standout Megan Gustafson, who was selected in 2019, as the only Big Ten players to take home the honor. The three-time Big Ten Player of the Year, Clark is also a finalist for every other major national player of the year award this season, many of which will be presented within the next week.

Clark owns 3,800+ career points and recently became the first Division I player to record 1,000+ points in back-to-back seasons. A native of West Des Moines, Iowa, she leads the nation in assists (9.0 apg) and scoring (32.0 ppg), the first player to finish first in both categories in consecutive seasons. She is also the only player in NCAA DI men’s or women’s basketball history to lead her conference in scoring and assists in four consecutive seasons.

Iowa is set for its second straight NCAA Women’s Final Four and Clark heads into the weekend with an NCAA single-season scoring record of 1,183 points. The Hawkeyes (33-4) will face UConn in the second NCAA national semifinal at approximately 9:30 p.m. ET on Friday live on ESPN from Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland.

2023-24 Postseason Awards

  • Naismith Player of the Year

  • National Player of the Year

  • The Athletic National Player of the Year

  • Sporting News National Player of the Year

  • Associated Press First Team All-America

  • USBWA First Team All-America

  • CSC Academic All-District

  • Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player

  • Consensus Big Ten Player of the Year

  • Unanimous First Team All-Big Ten