media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/4/2023, Last updated: 10/5/2023
link picture

Iowa and Caitlin Clark Lead Big Ten Preseason Women's Basketball Honors

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – For the second consecutive year, the University of Iowa has been selected as the preseason Big Ten Conference favorite by both the league’s 14 head coaches and a select media panel, the conference office announced on Wednesday. The coaches and media also selected Hawkeyes’ senior guard Caitlin Clark as the 2023-24 Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year, marking the third consecutive season the coaches have chosen Clark for the honor.

The coaches voted Ohio State second in the poll, followed by Indiana. The order was reversed in the media poll, with Indiana at No. 2, followed by Ohio State. Maryland claimed the fourth spot in both polls, while Illinois and Michigan rounded out the top five in the coaches and media polls, respectively.  

Each of the polls’ top four teams also appear in the 2023-24 “Way Too Early” Rankings recently released by espnW and The Athletic. On Sept. 28, espnW listed Ohio State at No. 4, followed by No. 6 Iowa, No. 10 Indiana, and No. 13 Maryland.  

The Athletic’s most recent preseason poll, announced on Sept. 27, includes Iowa ranked No. 6, followed by Ohio State at No. 7, Indiana at No. 9, and Maryland at No. 15.

While Clark was the only player unanimously named to the media’s Preseason All-Big Ten Team, she was joined by Indiana’s Mackenzie Holmes, Maryland’s Shyanne Sellers, Michigan’s Laila Phelia and Ohio State’s Cotie McMahon as unanimous selections by the coaches. 

The quintet was joined by five other Big Ten standouts on teams selected by both the coaches and media, Ilinois’ Makira Cook, Nebraska’s Alexis Markowski and Jaz Shelley, Ohio State’s Jacy Sheldon and Penn State’s Makenna Marisa. Minnesota's Mara Braun was also recognized by the coaches.

Ten of the 11 players honored were all-conference selections last season, including six who earned First Team honors, in Clark, Cook, Holmes, Marisa, Sellers and Shelley. Three of the Big Ten’s four individual award winners from last year are also listed among Wednesday’s honorees, Clark (Player of the Year), Holmes (Defensive Player of the Year) and McMahon (Freshman of the Year).

The Big Ten Conference is coming off another successful season that saw a record-tying seven programs selected for the 2023 NCAA Tournament, with conference teams combining to win a record 13 games. A conference record three teams advanced to the Elite Eight, with Iowa becoming the first Big Ten team since 2015 to reach the Final Four and the first since 2005 to appear in the National Championship game.

Preseason practices are underway for all 14 Big Ten member institutions, with all Big Ten head coaches and selected student-athletes from each school preparing to make their way to Minneapolis for the 2023 Big Ten Basketball Media Days Oct. 9 at the Target Center (more details to come at The 2023-24 regular season tips off Nov. 6, while the 31st Big Ten Conference Women’s Basketball Tournament will take place March 6-10, also at the Target Center in Minneapolis. The 2023 NCAA Women’s Final Four is scheduled for April 5 and 7 at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio.

The 2023-24 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams and rankings are as follows:

2023-24 Coaches Big Ten Preseason Rankings

1. Iowa

2. Ohio State

3. Indiana

4. Maryland

5. Illinois

2023-24 Coaches Preseason All-Big Ten Team*

Makira Cook, sr., G, Illinois





Mara Braun, So., G, Minnesota

Alexis Markowski, Jr., C/F, Nebraska

Jaz Shelley, Grad., G, Nebraska


Jacy Sheldon, Grad, G, Ohio State

Makenna Marisa, Senior+, G, Penn State

*Additional player due to tie in voting

2023-24 Coaches Preseason Player of the Year

Caitlin Clark, Sr. G, Iowa

2023-24 Media Big Ten Preseason Rankings

1. Iowa

2. Indiana

3. Ohio State

4. Maryland

5. Michigan

2023-24 Media Big Ten Preseason All-Big Ten Team

Makira Cook, Sr., G, Illinois

Mackenzie Holmes, Grad., F, Indiana


Shyanne Sellers, Jr., G, Maryland

Laila Phelia, Jr., G, Michigan

Alexis Markowski, Jr., C/F, Nebraska

Jaz Shelley, Grad, G, Nebraska

Cotie McMahon, Soph., F, Ohio State

Jacy Sheldon, Grad., G, Ohio State

Makenna Marisa, Senior+, G, Penn State

2023-24 Media Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year

Caitlin Clark, Sr., G, Iowa

Unanimous selections listed in ALL CAPS