media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 6/26/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

Iowa’s Caitlin Clark Captures CWSA Honda Cup

page picture

Story Links

ROSEMONT, Ill. (June 26, 2023) – University of Iowa junior women’s basketball guard Caitlin Clark was selected as the 2023 recipient of the Honda Cup as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year, it was announced by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) Monday night live on CBS Sports Network from the Pauley Pavilion Club on the UCLA campus in Los Angeles.


Clark is the first Big Ten Conference women’s basketball player and Iowa student-athlete to receive the Honda Cup in the award’s 47-year history. She is also just the fourth student-athlete from a current Big Ten school to earn the honor and the first since Penn State volleyball standout Megan Hodge was a co-recipient in 2010.


Clark was selected as part of the Top Three finalists for the award along with Stanford golfer Rose Zhang and Texas volleyball player Logan Eggleston. The trio emerged from voting conducted through the nearly 1,000 NCAA member institutions, with the Honda Cup recipient then chosen by the CWSA Board of Directors.


Clark was the unanimous National Player of the Year and Big Ten Player of the Year after leading Iowa to its first NCAA national championship game appearance and the first by a Big Ten program since 2005.


During the 2023 NCAA Tournament, she posted the first 40-point triple-double in NCAA Tournament history and broke the NCAA single-tournament record for most three-point FG made (24) and most points scored (191). This past winter, she was the only player in the nation with 1,000 points, 240 rebounds, 310 assists and 45 steals.


Overall, Clark became the first player in Division I women’s basketball history to record more than 1,000 points and 300 assists in the same season and was the fastest Division I player (men’s or women’s) to reach 1,500 career points over the last 20 seasons.


Off the court, she is a two-time first-team Academic All-American and was named the 2023 College Sports Communicators (CSC) Academic All-American of the Year.


"Emerging from one of the greatest classes in our rich history is Caitlin Clark,” said Chris Voelz, Executive Director of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards. “Her statistics and records set; her jaw dropping execution; her impact on the game and her engagement with the public and the media has all been exemplary. We welcome Caitlin into this elite sisterhood in this, our 47th year of honoring the top female collegiate athlete in the nation.”

The CWSA Sports Awards Presented by Honda broadcast will be re-aired on CBS Sports Network on June 26 (midnight ET), June 27 (10:30 a.m. ET, 6:30 p.m. ET), June 28 (4:30 p.m. ET) and July 1 (8 a.m. ET).


The Big Ten Conference ( is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching, and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten Conference has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness, and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten Conference institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten Conference sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013.