media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/25/2024, Last updated: 3/26/2024
link picture

Big Ten Announces Women's Gymnastics Postseason Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2024 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics postseason individual award recipients on Monday, as selected by the conference’s head coaches.

Michigan’s Sierra Brooks was named Gymnast of the Year, while Penn State’s Kalea McElligott was voted for Freshman of the Year and Michigan State’s Mike Rowe was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Brooks received her third consecutive gymnast of the year award after placing first on vault, uneven bars and floor exercise, while coming in second in the all-around. She is only the second gymnast in Big Ten history to win three consecutive gymnast of the year accolades, joining Minnesota’s Lexy Ramler (2019-2021). Brooks also took home seven gymnast of the week honors this season, a new record for most in a single season.

McElligott was named freshman of the year after a stellar first-year performance. She earned three freshman of the week accolades throughout the season and placed 13th in the all-around competition at the Big Ten Championships.

Rowe was named coach of the year for a third season in a row, only six years into his tenure as Michigan State’s head coach. Rowe and the Spartans won the 2024 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships for the first time in school history with a total score of 197.600.

Gymnast of the Year

Sierra Brooks, Michigan

Freshman of the Year

Kalea McElligott, Penn State

Coach of the Year 

Mike Rowe, Michigan State