media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 12/13/2023, Last updated: 12/14/2023
link picture

Michigan Atop 2024 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Preseason Poll

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Michigan was selected to win the 2024 Big Ten Conference women’s gymnastics championship, according to a poll of the 10 Big Ten coaches released Wednesday.

The Wolverines have won 27 Big Ten Championships, including eight in the last 10 years, and eight regular season crowns. Big Ten Regular-Season Co-Champion Michigan State was voted second, while Ohio State claimed third in this year’s Big Ten preseason poll. Rounding out the top five in this year’s Big Ten preseason poll were Iowa and Minnesota, in fourth and fifth, respectively.

All 10 Big Ten programs were ranked or receiving votes in the preseason Women’s Collegiate Gymnastics Association (WCGA) poll, led by No. 6 Michigan. Michigan State was next at No. 11, followed by No. 14 Ohio State, No. 18 Minnesota, No. 23 Iowa, No. 25 Maryland, No. 26 Illinois, No. 27 Nebraska, No. 28 Penn State, and Rutgers receiving votes.

Also on Wednesday, the conference unveiled the 2024 Big Ten Gymnasts to Watch List, as selected by the conference coaches. Half of the 20 student-athletes on the Gymnasts to Watch List are returning All-Big Ten selections from a year ago, including 13 Academic All-Big Ten honorees. Leading this season’s Big Ten Gymnasts to Watch List are reigning Big Ten Gymnast of the Year Sierra Brooks of Michigan and Freshman of the Year Nikki Smith of Michigan State.

The 2024 Big Ten women’s gymnastics season starts the first weekend of January, with nine conference schools competing in non-conference meets and five Big Ten teams facing a combined nine top-20 opponents.

Here’s a look at the complete 2024 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Preseason Poll and Gymnasts to Watch List:


  1. Michigan

  2. Michigan State

  3. Ohio State

  4. Iowa

  5. Minnesota

  6. Illinois

  7. Maryland

  8. Penn State

  9. Nebraska

  10. Rutgers


Amelia Knight, Sr., Illinois

Mia Takekawa, Gr., Illinois

Adeline Kenlin, Sr., Iowa

Karina Muñoz, So., Iowa

Natalie Martin, Fr., Maryland

Emma Silberman, Gr., Maryland

Sierra Brooks, Gr., Michigan

Gabby Wilson, Gr., Michigan

Gabi Ortiz, Fr., Michigan State

Nikki Smith, So., Michigan State

Gianna Gerdes, Sr., Minnesota

Mya Hooten, Sr., Minnesota

Csenge Bácskay, So., Nebraska

Emma Spence, Jr., Nebraska

Payton Harris, So., Ohio State

Tory Vetter, So., Ohio State

Kalea McElligott, Fr., Penn State

Isabella Salcedo, Jr., Penn State

Elia Aird, Jr., Rutgers

Emily Leese, Sr., Rutgers