media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/11/2024, Last updated: 3/11/2024
link picture

Penn State Wins Big Ten Wrestling Title

Nittany Lions capture second-straight Big Ten crown

page picture


COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Penn State won the 2024 Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday with a team score of 170.5. The Nittany Lions earned their eighth Big Ten Championship crown overall and second consecutive title. Penn State won five individual titles from Braeden Davis (125), Levi Haines (157), Mitchell Mesenbrink (165), Aaron Brooks (197) and Greg Kerkvliet (285).  

Michigan finished in second place with 123.5 points, followed by third-place Nebraska with 118 points. Iowa claimed fourth place with 110.5 points and Ohio State rounded out the top five with 89 points.  

Penn State’s Aaron Brooks was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships, while teammate Mitchell Mesenbrink received the Big Ten Freshman of the Year honor. Cael Sanderson was named Big Ten coach of the Year for the second consecutive year and eighth overall.  

Penn State freshman Braeden Davis claimed the Big Ten Championship at 125 pounds, following an 8-1 decision over Minnesota’s Patrick McKee. At 133 pounds, Rutgers' Dylan Shawver earned his first-ever Championship with a 23-8 tech fall win over Michigan’s Dylan Ragusin.  

At 141 pounds, Jesse Mendez claimed first place with a 4-1 decision over Penn State’s Beau Bartlett. Nebraska’s Ridge Lovett topped Michigan’s Austin Gomez, 5-4, to win the 149-pound title. At 157, Levi Haines earned a 4-1 sudden victory vs. Michigan’s Will Lewan for his second-straight 157-pound title.  

Mesenbrink earned the title at 165 in a 13-11 comeback victory over reigning Big Ten Champion Dean Hamiti of Wisconsin. Edmond Ruth of Illinois earned the Big Ten title at 174 pounds.  

At 184, Isaiah Salazar of Minnesota earned an 8-1 sudden victory over Penn State’s Bernie Truax, Salazar’s first title of his career.  

Now a four-time Big Ten Champion, Brooks earned a 19-3 tech fall win over Iowa’s Zach Glazier to win the title at 197. The Nittany Lions capped the evening with a win from Greg Kerkvliet at 285 over Ohio State’s Nick Feldman.  

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are in the link above.  


Wrestler of the Year: Aaron Brooks, Penn State 

Freshman of the Year: Mitchell Mesenbrink, Penn State 

Coach of the Year: Cael Sanderson, Penn State 

Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships: Aaron Brooks, Penn State  


Braeden Davis, Penn State 

Dylan Shawver, Rutgers  

Jesse Mendez, Ohio State

Ridge Lovett, Nebraska

Levi Haines, Penn State

Mitchell Mesenbrink, Penn State

Edmond Ruth, Illinois

Isaiah Salazar, Minnesota

Aaron Brooks, Penn State

Greg Kerkvliet, Penn State