media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 3/21/2024, Last updated: 3/22/2024
link picture

Big Ten Wrestling Set to Compete at NCAA Championships

Big Ten boasts a top-seeded wrestler in six weight classes

page picture


ROSEMONT, Ill. - Wrestlers from all 14 Big Ten schools will head to the T-Mobile Center in Kansas City, Mo., to compete in the 2024 NCAA Wrestling Championships, which begin Thursday, March 21 and conclude Saturday, March 23. The Big Ten is sending 96 wrestlers, including 47 top-15 seeded wrestlers and six No. 1 seeds, across the 10 weight classes.

The conference is sending at least eight wrestlers in all 10 weight classes, including eight in the 184- and 197-pound weight classes, nine in the 133-, 174- and 285-pound weight classes, 10 in the 125-, 149- and 157-pound weight classes, 11 in the 165- pound wight class and 12 in the 141-pound weight class.

The Big Ten boasts a top-seeded wrestler in six weight classes this year – Penn State's Braeden Davis (125), Levi Haines (157), Aaron Brooks (197) and Greg Kerkvliet (285), Ohio State’s Jesse Mendez (141) and Nebraska’s Ridge Lovett (149).

Six Big Ten schools have claimed NCAA titles, led by Iowa with 24. Penn State won its 10th national championship in 2023, the program’s ninth title in the last 11 years. Minnesota follows with three national titles, while Indiana, Michigan State and Ohio State own one title each. A Big Ten school has taken home the national championship in each of the last 16 years.