media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/27/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

Big Ten Conference Announces 2023 Women’s Soccer Postseason Honors

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill.  – The Big Ten Conference has announced the 2023 Women’s Soccer All-Big Ten Teams and individual honors, according to a vote of the conference’s 14 head coaches. Nebraska’s John Walker and Eleanor Dale were unanimous selections as Coach and Forward of the Year, respectively, while Michigan State’s Justina Gaynor and Bella Najera were named Midfielder and Freshman of the Year. Penn State’s Cori Dyke collected Defender of the Year honors and Indiana’s Jamie Gerstenberg was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

Dale is the first Nebraska student-athlete chosen as Forward of the Year. The Billingham, England native leads the nation with 23 goals, while her 50 total points rank second in Division I. Seven of those goals have also secured victory for the Huskers, a tally that also leads the nation.

Likewise, Gaynor also secured the Spartans’ first Midfielder of the Year accolade. The senior from Shelby Township, Mich. totaled 19 points and 11 assists, in helping Michigan State earn its second consecutive Big Ten championship and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Big Ten Tournament.

Dyke becomes the ninth Penn State student-athlete to earn the league’s top defensive player accolade and first since Kaleigh Riehl in 2018. Dyke started all 17 matches, anchoring a defensive effort that surrendered a Big Ten best just nine goals. The fifth year senior also added 10 points on four goals and two assists on the offensive side of the pitch.

Gerstenberg earns the Hoosiers’ first Goalkeeper of the Year trophy after posting a 629 goals against average in 18 contests. The junior from Birkenwerder, Germany led the Big Ten and ranked fifth in the country with 10 shutouts, including five in conference play.

Najera collects Michigan State’s second Freshman of the Year honor, joining Laura Heyboer in 2008. The St. Charles, Ill. native was named Big Ten Freshman of the Week four times in a season that saw her tie for eighth in the conference with eight goals, while her 18 points were good for 11th.

Like Dale, Walker is the first Cornhusker coach honored with the Big Ten Coach of the Year moniker. Walker earns his fourth career conference coach of the year award after leading Nebraska to a league-best 13 wins and a share of the 2023 Big Ten Women’s Soccer title. 

Dale, Gaynor, Dyke and Gerstenberg also earned spots on the All-Big Ten First Team. Indiana’s Paige Webber, Michigan State’s Raegan Cox and Celia Gaynor, Nebraska’s Sarah Weber, Northwestern’s Meg Boade, Ohio State’s Emma Sears and Wisconsin’s Emma Jaskaniec joined the quartet in receiving First Team all-conference honors.

The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2023 Big Ten Tournament kicks off Sunday with four quarterfinal matches at campus sites around the conference, with each match broadcast live on BTN’s digital subscription service, B1G+ (more details are available at

The tournament then moves to Field in Columbus, Ohio, with the semifinals to be played Nov. 2 (5 and 7:30 p.m. ET) and the championship match scheduled for Nov. 5 (2 p.m. ET). All three contests from Columbus will be televised live on BTN and the FOX Sports app. The winner of the 2023 Big Ten Tournament will earn the conference’s automatic berth into this year’s NCAA Tournament.

The complete list of 2023 Big Ten Women’s Soccer Postseason honorees can also be found below.

2023 Big Ten Conference Women's Basketball Postseason Honors

Coach of the Year: JOHN WALKER, Nebraska

Forward of the Year: ELEANOR DALE, Nebraska

Midfielder of the Year: Justina Gaynor, Michigan State

Defender of the Year: Cori Dyke, Penn State

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jamie Gerstenberg, Indiana

Freshman of the Year: Bella Najera, Michigan State

First Team All-Big Ten

Second Team All-Big Ten

Third Team All-Big Ten*


Paige Webber, Indiana

Emerson Sargeant, Michigan State

Kaitlyn MacBean, Penn State


Ella Hase, Northwestern

Sammi Woods, Michigan

Emma Jaskaniec, Wisconsin

Kaitlyn Dudukovich, Ohio State

Megan Nemec, Minnesota

Sarah Weber, Nebraska


Justina Gaynor, Michigan State

Riley Tiernan, Rutgers

Peyton McNamara, Ohio State

Meg Boade, Northwestern

Haley Peterson, Nebraska

Avery Kilitta, Michigan

Emma Sears, Ohio State

Eva Alonso, Penn State

Bella Najera, Michigan State

Sophia Boman, Minnesota

Maddie Ishaug, Wisconsin


Cori Dyke, Penn State

Sydney Jones, Ohio State

Emma Phillips, Northwestern

Raegan Cox, Michigan State

Jordan Zade, Nebraska

Kate Wiesner, Penn State

Celia Gaynor, Michigan State

Emily Mason, Rutgers

Hailey Baumann, Wisconsin

Samantha Cary, Iowa


Jamie Gerstenberg, Indiana

Katherine Asman, Penn State

Erin McKinney, Wisconsin

2023 Big Ten All-Freshman Team*

2023 Big Ten Sportsmanship Honorees

Gabrielle Prych, F, MICH

Zoey Kollhoff, Sr., Illinois

Megan Norkett, F, NW

Olivia Albert, So., Indiana

Amanda Schlueter, F, OSU

Zoë Bessert, R-Jr., Iowa

Lauren Omholt, F, Purdue

Halle Johnson, Jr., Maryland

Asley Baran, F, Rutgers

Stephanie Sparkowski, Sr., Michigan

Bella Najera, M, Michigan State

Jordyn Wickes, Jr., Michigan State

Ava Branblett, M, Ohio State

Elizabeth Overberg, Jr., Minnesota

Lilley Bosley, M, Michigan

Reagan Raabe, Sr., Nebraska

Sophia Bush, M, Iowa

Ingrid Falls, Sr., Northwestern

Kate Childers, M, Minnesota

Nina LeFlore, R-Jr., Ohio State

Kennedy Bell, D, Maryland

Kate Wiesner, Sr+, Penn State

Hailey Baumann, D, Wisconsin

Kelsi Carrico, R-Jr., Purdue

Piper Coffield, D, Indiana

Allison Lynch, Gr., Rutgers


Dara Andringa, Sr., Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS; * - additional players added due to ties in voting