media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/28/2024, Last updated: 4/28/2024
link picture

Michigan Wins 2024 Women’s Tennis Tournament Title

page picture

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The University of Michigan won the 2024 Big Ten Conference Women’s Tennis Tournament championship Sunday with a 4-2 victory over Ohio State at the Varsity Tennis Center in Ann Arbor, Mich. It’s the Wolverines’ seventh Big Ten Tournament title and third in a row, giving them the Big Ten’s automatic berth into the NCAA Championships. 

Michigan earned the doubles point with a 6-1 win on court two and a 6-4 win on court three. Ohio State drew even with a win at No. 2 singles from Big Ten Freshman of the Year Luciana Perry. The Wolverines went up 3-1 with wins on court six and five before the Buckeyes picked up a win at No. 4 singles to pull within one.  

Tournament MVP Julia Fliegner clinched the match on court three, defeating Sydni Ratliff, 7-6 (4), 7-5.  

Fliegner was joined on the all-tournament team by Piper Charney. Ohio State was represented by Perry and Irina Cantos Siemers, while Northwestern’s Maria Shushariana and Wisconsin’s Maria Sholokhova rounded out the Big Ten All-Tournament Team.  

The complete field for the 2024 NCAA Championships will be announced at 6:30 p.m. (ET) Monday live on Individual championship competitors will later be announced in an press release on Tuesday, April 30.  


Michigan – 4  

Ohio State – 2 


No. 1 -- No. 3 Kari Miller (U-M) vs. No. 18 Irina Cantos (OSU), 6-4, 6-5 abandoned 

No. 2 -- No. 53 Luciana Perry (OSU) d. No. 58 Gala Mesochoritou (U-M), 7-5, 6-3 

No. 3 -- No. 27 Julia Fliegner (U-M) d. No. 115 Sydni Ratliff (OSU), 7-6 (4), 7-5 

No. 4 -- Shelly Bereznyak (OSU) d. Jaedan Brown (U-M), 6-4, 6-3 

No. 5 -- No. 78 Lily Jones (U-M) d. Teah Chavez (OSU), 7-5, 6-3 

No. 6 -- No. 124 Piper Charney (U-M) d. Audrey Spencer (OSU), 6-1, 2-6, 6-3 


No. 1 -- No. 31 Irina Cantos /Luciana Perry (OSU) d. No. 8 Kari Miller/Jaedan Brown (U-M), 6-2 

No. 2 -- Piper Charney/Reese Miller (U-M) d. Sydni Ratliff/Audrey Spencer (OSU), 6-1 

No. 3 -- Julia Fliegner/Lily Jones (U-M) d. Maddie Atway/Teah Chavez (OSU), 6-4 

Order of Completion: Doubles 2-1-3; Singles 2-6-5-4-3