media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/28/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

Bracket Released For 2023 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament

page picture


ROSEMONT, lll. – The field is set for the 2023 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament following the conclusion of conference play on Friday. The single-elimination tournament, hosted by the University of Michigan, runs Thursday through Sunday (Nov. 2-5) at Phyllis Ocker Field in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Northwestern (16-1, 8-0 Big Ten) earned the No. 1 seed after clinching the Big Ten Championship with a perfect conference season. The Wildcats receive a bye into Friday’s semifinals and face the winner of the tournament-opening quarterfinal match between No. 4 seed Penn State (9-7, 4-4) and No. 5 seed Ohio State (13-5, 4-4), slated for Thursday at 11 a.m. ET.

Thursday’s other quarterfinal matches include No. 2 seed Rutgers (15-2, 6-2) versus No. 7 seed and defending champion Michigan (9-7, 3-5) at 2 p.m. ET and No. 3 seed Maryland (14-4, 6-2) against No. 6 seed Iowa (13-4, 4-4) scheduled for 5 p.m. ET.

Northwestern takes the field for Friday’s 1 p.m. ET semifinal, followed by a 3:30 p.m. semifinal. The championship match starts at Noon ET on Sunday with an NCAA Tournament berth on the line.

All seven teams are ranked in this week’s Penn Monto/NFHCA Coaches Poll. Northwestern is the nation’s top ranked team followed by Rutgers (third), Maryland (seventh), Iowa (eighth), Ohio State (11th), Penn State (15th) and Michigan (16th)

Quarterfinals matches will be streamed on B1G+ with the semifinals and championship match carried by Big Ten Network.