media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 10/22/2023, Last updated: 10/23/2023
link picture

Northwestern Clinches Share of Big Ten Field Hockey Championship

page picture

PISCATAWAY, N.J. – In a showdown of first-place teams, top-ranked Northwestern prevailed over fourth-ranked Rutgers, 2-1, in a penalty shootout to clinch a share of the 2023 Big Ten Field Hockey Championship Sunday afternoon at the Bauer Track and Field Complex. Rutgers (15-1, 6-1 Big Ten) became the last team in the country to fall from the unbeaten ranks.

Tied 1-1 at the end of regulation, the teams battled through two overtime periods and were deadlocked following the first shootout at 3-3. Peyton Halsey converted Northwestern’s first stroke in the sudden victory shootout to seal the win.

The victory gave Northwestern (15-1 overall, 7-0 Big Ten) its first championship since 2013, its seventh overall, and the second under Head Coach Tracey Fuchs. The Wildcats, who have won 15-straight matches since dropping their season opener, can win the title outright when they host Maryland on Thursday at 3 p.m. CT on Big Ten Network. Northwestern will be looking for its first unbeaten conference season since 1988.