media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 6/11/2024, Last updated: 6/12/2024
link picture

Big Ten Players Named to U.S. Olympic Field Hockey Team

page picture


ROSEMONT, Ill. — Former and current Big Ten players comprise half the roster of the United States Olympic Field Hockey Team, which was announced Tuesday by USA Field Hockey.

The eight players with Big Ten connections named to the 16-member squad are:

Leah Crouse, D, Maryland (2022)
Brooke DeBerdine, M, Maryland (2017-21)
Emma DeBerdine, M, Maryland (2019-22)
Sophia Gladieux, F, Penn State (2020-24)
Kelee Lepage, D, Maryland (2016-19)
Ashley Sessa, M, Northwestern (2024)
Abby Tamer, F/M, Michigan (2021-24)
Maddie Zimmer, M, Northwestern (2021-24)

Gladieux, Sessa, Tamer and Zimmer are active players who will compete in the Big Ten this fall. In addition, Jenny Rizzo, G, Penn State (2015-18) has been named a provisional athlete for the team and Northwestern Head Coach Tracey Fuchs chosen to serve as an assistant on the coaching staff.

The Americans, who last appeared in the 2016 Rio Games, will make their Paris debut on July 27 against Argentina at Yves-du-Manoir Stadium.