media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 11/6/2023, Last updated: 3/15/2024
link picture

Four Big Ten Teams Qualify for NCAA Field Hockey Tournament

page picture


ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference will be sending four teams to the 2023 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championships as the tournament field was announced Sunday evening. Northwestern earned an automatic berth while Maryland, Rutgers and Iowa received at-large berths.

Northwestern (18-1), which won the Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament, is the No. 2 overall seed and will host the winner of an opening round match between California and Miami (Ohio) on Friday, Nov. 10, at 1 p.m. ET. Northwestern is making its 19th NCAA Tournament appearance and serving as a host school for the second-straight year.

Maryland (16-5), the fourth overall seed, will also host first and second round matches. Maryland takes on Old Dominion (14-5) on Friday, Nov. 10, at 12 p.m. ET, marking the Terrapins’ 35th appearance in the NCAAs.

Rutgers (16-3) returns to the NCAAs after a one-year absence and meets Harvard (15-3) on Friday, Nov. 10, at 2:30 p.m. ET in Chapel Hill, N.C. The Scarlet Knights are making their fifth trip to the NCAAs.

Iowa (13-5) will encounter Louisville (14-6) for the second time this season on Friday, Nov. 10, at 3:30 p.m. ET in Evanston, Ill. Iowa won the first meeting, 2-1, on Oct. 15 in Louisville. The Hawkeyes have qualified for their 28th NCAA Tournament.

Four of the 18 teams in the bracket will advance to the NCAA Semifinals scheduled for Nov. 17 at Karen Shelton Stadium in Chapel Hill, N.C. The NCAA Final will take place on Nov. 19.