media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/5/2024, Last updated: 5/5/2024
link picture

Michigan Wins Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Tournament Title

page picture

Photo by Kirk Irwin

COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 4 seed Michigan started out of the gates quickly and didn’t look back in recording a 16-4 victory over third seed Penn State to win the 2024 Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Tournament Championship Saturday evening at the Ohio State Lacrosse Stadium. Michigan receives the Big Ten’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Lightning caused the game to be delayed by 52 minutes, but Michigan wasted little time getting on the board, scoring six seconds into the contest for the quickest goal in tournament history. The Wolverines (10-6) scored two more times in the opening five minutes and built a 6-1 cushion after one quarter of action. Michigan took a 9-3 lead into halftime and outscored Penn State, 6-0, in the third quarter to secure its second-straight tournament title.

Ryan Cohen produced a record seven assists while Justin Tiernan finished with five goals. Michael Boehm earned the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player Award after compiling nine goals and 14 points in three games.

Michigan placed five players on the all-tournament team while Penn State (11-4) earned three selections.

The Big Ten will find out how many of its teams qualify for the postseason when the NCAA Selection Show airs Sunday evening at 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Tournament Most Outstanding Player:
Michael Boehm, MICH

All-Tournament Team:
Garrett Degnon, JHU
Ajax Zappitello, MD
Michael Boehm, MICH
Ryan Cohen, MICH
Hunter Taylor, MICH
Jack Whitney, MICH
Justin Wietfeldt, MICH
TJ Malone, PSU
Matt Traynor, PSU
Luke Walstrum, PSU