media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/21/2024, Last updated: 4/21/2024
link picture

Big Ten Announces 2024 Men’s Lacrosse Tournament Bracket

page picture

ROSEMONT, lll. – The Big Ten Conference has unveiled the bracket for the 2024 Men’s Lacrosse Tournament, which commences next Saturday. Third-ranked Johns Hopkins will be the No. 1 seed after clinching the Big Ten Championship outright with a 7-5 win over fifth-ranked Maryland on Saturday in front of the largest crowd (10,458) in the NCAA this season. The Blue Jays finished 5-0 in conference play.

Johns Hopkins (10-3) and No. 2 seed Maryland (8-4, 3-2 Big Ten) receive first round byes. Tournament action begins April 27 with quarterfinals featuring No. 4 seed Michigan (7-6, 2-3) hosting No. 5 seed Ohio State (6-8, 1-4) in Ann Arbor, Mich., and No. 3 seed Penn State (9-3, 3-2) facing No. 6 seed Rutgers (7-6, 1-4) in University Park, Pa. Game times are to be announced.

Tournament semifinals take place May 2. Johns Hopkins will meet the Michigan-Ohio State winner at 6:30 p.m. ET and Maryland will face the Penn State-Rutgers winner at 8 p.m. ET. The semifinals and championship game, scheduled for May 4 at 8 p.m. ET, will be held at the Ohio State Lacrosse Stadium in Columbus, Ohio with all three games carried by the Big Ten Network.

The winner of this year’s Big Ten Tournament will earn the conference’s automatic berth into the NCAA Championship, with that bracket being announced at 9:30 p.m. (ET) May 5 on ESPNU.

Saturday, April 27 (Quarterfinals)

Game #1 — #5 seed Ohio State at #4 seed Michigan – Time TBA

Game #2 — #6 seed Rutgers at #3 seed Penn State – Time TBA

Thursday, May 2 (Semifinals)

Game #3 — #1 seed Johns Hopkins vs. Game #1 Winner – 6:30 p.m. ET (BTN)

Game #4 — #2 seed Maryland vs. Game #2 Winner – 8 p.m. p.m. ET (BTN)

Saturday, May 4 (Championship)

Game #5 — Semifinal winners – 8 p.m. ET (BTN)