media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/15/2024, Last updated: 4/20/2024
link picture

Chun Headlines Field In 2024 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships presented by Old National Bank

Conference's premier event heads to Bulle Rock GC in Maryland for first time

page picture

HAVRE de GRACE, Maryland -- All 14 Big Ten institutions will be represented this week at Bulle Rock Golf Course in Havre de Grace, Maryland, for the 2024 Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships Presented by Old National Bank. Admission and parking for fans is complimentary at the event, teeing off on Friday, April 19, 2024, and concluding on Sunday, April 21.

2024 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships - Team Leaderboard (via Golfstat)

2024 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships - Individual Leaderboard (via Golfstat)

Bulle Rock Golf Course: Scorecard & Virtual Tour

REWIND: Illinois Captures Top Honors At 2023 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships

No. 9 Northwestern is the top-ranked team in the conference heading into the event, with consecutive wins at the PING/ASU Invitational and Silverado Showdown, and a runner-up result at the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate in its last three events. The Wildcats are followed in this week's rankings by No. 30 Ohio State (coming off a decisive victory over a field that included 11 Big Ten programs at the Therese Hession Buckeye Invite) No. 32 Michigan State, No. 33 Purdue, No. 37 Michigan and No. 41 Maryland.

The Wolverines boast the conference's top-ranked individual in No. 27 Monet Chun. The senior from Richmond Hills, Ontario, won the Chattanooga Classic earlier this month and was the medalist at the 2022 Big Ten Championships where she led Michigan to its first league crown. Ohio State's Kary Hollenbaugh (No. 36), Northwestern's Lauryn Nguyen (No. 39), Illinois' Isabel Sy (No. 42) and Michigan State's Katie Lu (No. 49) also rank among the nation's Top-50. 

The University of Illinois won its first conference title last year at the 2023 Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships hosted by Fox Chapel Golf Club in Pittsburgh. The Illini (286-292-287=865 [+13]) edged runner-up Northwestern by three strokes to claim the crown, led by individual medalist Crystal Wang (71-68-62=201 [-12]). The 2023 Golfer of the Year and Mary Fossum Award winner posted the best single- and three-round scores in Championships history on her way to a 12-stroke victory.

The last four Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships have produced four different team champions as the quality of competition across the league has surged. Seven Big Ten teams and three individuals represented the conference with earned invitations to the 2023 NCAA Regionals. Bulle Rock will host not just the 2024 Championships, but also the 2025 edition of the event that will feature 18 conference schools for the first time. Named for the first thoroughbred racehorse brought to North America in the early 18th century, Bulle Rock has consistently been ranked as Maryland’s No. 1 public golf course since opening in 1998. The acclaimed Pete Dye design winds through 235 acres near the intersection of the Susquehanna River and Chesapeake Bay. Bulle Rock hosted five consecutive LPGA Championships (now known as the Women’s PGA Championship) from 2005-09, including Annika Sorenstam’s third consecutive victory in 2005 by three strokes over 15-year old amateur Michelle Wie.