media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 4/21/2024, Last updated: 4/22/2024
link picture

Indiana Wins Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships

page picture

Team Results | Player Results

HAVRE DE GRACE, Md. – The 42nd Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships, presented by Old National Bank, came down to the wire as Indiana made a late surge with just a few holes to play to overtake Michigan State on Sunday at the Bulle Rock Golf Course. Indiana receives the conference’s automatic berth into the NCAA Championships after winning its eighth Big Ten title and first in 26 years.

With temperatures in the low 50s, the Hoosiers closed the day shooting 283 to finish at 856 (-8), edging out Michigan State (857) by a stroke and Northwestern (863) by seven shots. Purdue and Michigan tied for fourth (864), followed by Ohio State (872), Maryland (873), Wisconsin (882), Minnesota (884), Nebraska (893), Rutgers (898), Illinois (898), Penn State (902) and Iowa (902).

The final day of action saw three players earn co-medalist honors, the first time this has happened in the event’s history. Minnesota’s Isabella McCauley, Michigan’s Monet Chun and Indiana’s Caroline Craig all finished with a three-day total of 7-under par 209.

This year’s event begins a two-year run for the championships at Bulle Rock Golf Course. The course, designed by Pete Dye, is named for the first thoroughbred racehorse brought to North America in the early 18th century. Bulle Rock has consistently been ranked as Maryland’s No. 1 public golf course since opening in 1998.

More women’s golf is on the way as teams hope to hear their names called during the NCAA Selection Show on Wednesday, April 24 at 2 p.m. ET on Golf Channel. Regionals are set to take place at six sites from May 6-8, followed by the championship finals May 17-22 in Carlsbad, Calif.

All-Championships Team

Isabella McCauley, Minnesota

Monet Chun, Michigan

Caroline Craig, Indiana

Caroline Smith, Indiana

Lauryn Nguyen, Northwestern

Katie Lu, Michigan State