media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/9/2024, Last updated: 5/10/2024
link picture

USA Lacrosse Names 27 to Women's Lacrosse All-America Teams

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – USA Lacrosse Magazine recognized 27 Big Ten women’s lacrosse student-athletes today, as the publication announced its 2024 Division I All-Americans. All-Americans were chosen by magazine staff with input from coaches and conferences across the country.

Northwestern led the Big Ten with seven honorees, while Maryland, Michigan, and Penn State claiming five award winners each.

Michigan’s Maddie Burns and Erin O’Grady joined Northwestern’s Erin Coykendall and Izzy Scane in receiving First Team accolades.

Burns, the 2024 Big Ten Defender of the Year, paired 34 ground balls, 26 caused turnovers, and 20 draw controls while anchoring the nation’s stingiest defense. The Wolverines surrendered just 6.88 goals per game, best in the Big Ten.

O’Grady recorded 15 starts this season while leading the country with a 6.68 goals against average and a 58.0 save percentage en route to being named Big Ten Goaltender of the Year. O’Grady surrendered five or fewer goals in nine of 16 contests, while recording at least eight saves 12 times.

An All-Big Ten First Team selection, Coykendall ranks second in the conference with 44 assists, while her 79 points are good for third. The graduate student from Spencerport, N.Y. tallied at least four points in 13 of her 17 games this season.

Scane earned her third career Big Ten Attacker of the Year honor this season after ranking fifth in the country with 70 goals, while her 87 points are good for 16th. Scane scored at least four goals in 11 of 17 games this season, including a five-goal performance in the Big Ten championship game. Her final goal on the day gave her 358 for her career, tying Charlotte North for most goals in NCAA history.

The USA Lacrosse Magazine All-American team is the first of a projected three All-American teams to be released this postseason. The All-American teams from the media voting compiled by Inside Lacrosse, as well as the Coaches' All-American teams from the IWLCA will be released at a later date this month.

Please see below for the complete list of 2024 USA Women’s Lacrosse All-Americans from the Big Ten.

First Team

A – Erin Coykendall, Gr., Northwestern

A – Izzy Scane, Gr., Northwestern

D – Maddie Burns, Sr., Michigan

GK – Erin O’Grady, Jr., Michigan

Second Team

A – Eloise Clevenger, Sr., Maryland

A – Madison Taylor, So., Northwestern

M – Kristin O’Neill, Sr., Penn State

M – Cassidy Spilis, Sr., Rutgers

D – Meghan Ball, Gr., Maryland

D – Kendall Halpern, Sr., Northwestern

Third Team

A - Jill Smith, Jr., Michigan

M – Shaylan Ahearn, Gr., Maryland

D – Jordan Carr, Sr., Johns Hopkins

D – Sammy White, Jr., Northwestern

GK – Emily Sterling, Gr., Maryland

Honorable Mention

A – Ava Angello, So., Johns Hopkins

A – Kaylee Dyer, Jr., Michigan

A – Gretchen Gilmore, Sr., Penn State

A – Hannah Leubecker, Gr., Maryland

M – Kayla Abernathy, Sr., Penn State

M - Jennifer Barry, Gr., Johns Hopkins

M – Ashley Mackin, Jr., Johns Hopkins

M – Samantha Smith, Jr., Northwestern

D – Grace Callahan, So., Michigan

D – Sammy Dupcak, Sr., Penn State

D – Ellie Hollin, Jr., Penn State

D – Carleigh Mahoney, Sr., Northwestern