media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/6/2024, Last updated: 5/6/2024
link picture

Big Ten Announces 2024 Women’s Lacrosse Individual Awards

page picture

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2024 Women’s Lacrosse individual awards on Monday, following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Regular season and tournament champion Northwestern claimed a pair of awards, as Izzy Scane and head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller repeated as Attacker and Coach of the Year, respectively. 

A pair of Michigan Wolverines were also recognized, as Maddie Burns and Erin O’Grady were tabbed as Defender and Goaltender of the Year. Rutgers’ Cassidy Spilis was named Midfielder of the Year, while Penn State’s Sydney Manning claimed Freshman of the Year accolades.

This is Scane’s third career unanimous Attacker of the Year selection, joining honors in 2021 and 2023. The reigning Tewaaraton Award winner and 2024 award finalist ranks fifth in the country with 70 goals, while her 87 points are good for 16th. Scane scored at least four goals in 11 of 17 games this season, including a five-goal performance in the Big Ten championship game. Her final goal on the day gave her 358 for her career, tying Charlotte North for most goals in NCAA history.

Spilis claimed her second career Midfielder of the Year honor, winning both in unanimous fashion. The 2022 Midfielder of the Year ranks second in the country and leads the Big Ten with 74 goals, while ranking among conference leaders with 79 points (3rd), 134 shots (2nd), 98 draw controls (3rd), 36 caused turnovers (2nd), and 39 ground balls (3rd). Spilis notched at least four goals on 13 occasions and recorded 11 games with at least five draw controls.

Burns becomes the first Michigan student-athlete named Big Ten Defender of the Year. The senior paired 34 ground balls, 26 caused turnovers, and 20 draw controls while anchoring the nation’s stingiest defense. The Wolverines surrendered just 6.88 goals per game, best in the Big Ten, as they posted a 14-3 record, second most wins in program history, and their highest IL Women/IWLCA poll ranking ever.

Much of Michigan’s defensive success can also be attributed to Goaltender of the Year Erin O’Grady. After appearing in just 10 games in 2023, the junior recorded 15 starts this season while leading the country with a 6.68 goals against average and a 58.0 save percentage. Her 131 total saves also rank fourth in the Big Ten.  O’Grady surrendered five or fewer goals in nine of 16 contests, while recording at least eight saves 12 times.  

Manning is Penn State’s third Freshman of the Year honoree, joining Madison Carter in 2016 and Kristin O’Neill in 2021. The Great Valley, Pa. native established herself as one of the league’s top goaltenders, sporting a .403 save percentage with 100 saves and an 11.40 goals against average during her rookie campaign. Manning posted nine games with at least seven saves, while leading the Nittany Lions to seven victories, including wins over then-No. 1 Northwestern and at then-No. 4 Maryland

Hiller earns her fourth Big Ten Coach of the Year honor in the last five years and her second back-to-back awards. The Wildcats have been ranked number one in the IL Women/IWLCA poll for 11 weeks this season boast a record of 15-2 with 11 wins over ranked opponents. The Wildcats will enter the NCAA Tournament as the top overall seed after sporting the nation’s second-ranked scoring offense, tallying 17.0 goals per game.

The complete list of 2024 Big Ten women’s Lacrosse individual award winners is below.

Attacker of the Year: IZZY SCANE, Gr., Northwestern

Midfielder of the Year: CASSIDY SPILIS, Gr., Rutgers

Defender of the Year: Maddie Burns, Sr., Michigan

Goaltender of the Year: Erin O’Grady, Jr., Michigan

Freshman of the Year: Sydney Manning, GK, Penn State

Coach of the Year: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern

 ALL CAPS indicates unanimous selections