media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/28/2024, Last updated: 5/28/2024
link picture

IWLCA Names 14 from Big Ten to All-America Teams

page picture

NORTHBOROUGH, Mass. – Fourteen Big Ten women’s lacrosse student-athletes were recently recognized by the nation’s lacrosse coaches, as the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) announced its 2024 Division I All-America Teams.

Six Big Ten schools were represented among the team’s 48 honorees, with Northwestern earning four nods, one more than Maryland and Michigan. Two Penn State student-athletes were recognized, with one each from Johns Hopkins and Rutgers.

Of the 16 IWLCA First Team All-Americans, seven competed in the Big Ten, including Maryland defender Meghan Ball, Michigan defender Maddie Burns and goaltender Erin O’Grady, Northwestern attackers Erin Coykendall, Izzy Scane, and Madison Taylor, and Rutgers midfielder Cassidy Spilis.

All 14 of these student-athletes also earned All-America accolades from both Inside Lacrosse and USA Lacrosse Magazine, with Burns, O’Grady, and Scane earning First Team honors on all three teams.

Please see below for the complete list of 2024 IWLCA All-Americans from the Big Ten.

First Team
A - Erin Coykendall, Gr., Northwestern
A - Izzy Scane, Gr., Northwestern
A - Madison Taylor, So., Northwestern
M - Cassidy Spilis, Gr., Rutgers
D - Meghan Ball, Gr., Maryland
D - Maddie Burns, Sr., Michigan
GK - Erin O‘Grady, Jr., Michigan

Second Team
A - Jill Smith, Jr., Michigan
M - Kristin O’Neill, Sr. Penn State
D - Jordan Carr, Sr., Johns Hopkins

Third Team
A - Eloise Clevenger, Sr., Maryland
D - Kendall Halpern, Sr., Northwestern
D - Ellie Hollin, Jr., Penn State
GK - Emily Sterling, Gr., Maryland