media source avatar
Big Ten CommunicationsPublished: 5/19/2024, Last updated: 5/20/2024
link picture

Michigan Wins 2024 Big Ten Rowing Championships

page picture

Complete Results

BARABOO, Wis. – Michigan won the 2024 Big Ten Conference Rowing Championships on Sunday after claiming first place in five races and finishing second in two others at Devil’s Lake State Park in Baraboo, Wis. It is the second consecutive title for the Wolverines after winning the championship in 2023 and their third in the last four years.

The Wolverines totaled 189 points to beat out Indiana (144 points) and Rutgers (137 points) to secure their ninth Big Ten title.

Michigan earned victories in the Four Eights (6:46.79) and Third Eights (6:42.43) to open the day. Rutgers won the Third Fours in a time of 7:15.35 and Ohio State took first place in the Second Fours with a time of 7:07.61. The Wolverines were back atop the podium in the First Fours in a time of 7:00.64 and the Second Eights (6:15.03).

The championship title came down to the final race of the day with the First Eights. Drama ensued during the entirety of the race, especially in the battle for first place. Michigan and Indiana were neck and neck over the 2,000-meter course, before the Wolverines edged out the victory in a time 6:17.85 to clinch the conference crown, just 1.02 seconds ahead of the Hoosiers. Michigan is the first 10-time First Eights champion in conference history.

The Big Ten Network will air its linear coverage of the 2024 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Sunday, May 26 at 10:30 a.m. ET.

With Sunday’s win, Michigan earns the conference’s automatic berth to the 2024 NCAA Championships, which will take place May 31– June 2 in Bethel, Ohio. The full field of this year’s NCAA Championships will be announced on Tuesday, May 21 at 5 p.m. ET via a streamed selection show at

4thOhio State121
7thMichigan State62

First Team All-Big Ten
Piper Maaka, Indiana
Nico Daly, Indiana
Emma Dabinett, Iowa
Zara Collisson, Michigan
Katie Easton, Michigan
Jana Peachey, Michigan
Lizzie Johnston, Michigan State
Isa Bejaran, Minnesota
Jamie Harris, Ohio State
Lily Wood, Rutgers
Nora Byrne, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten
Abbey Armstrong, Indiana
Bella Oertel, Indiana
Abbey Klostermann, Iowa
Annaka Draaisma, Michigan
Aubrey Fitts, Michigan
Ella Kubas, Michigan State
Manon Field, Minnesota
Tess Thompson, Ohio State
Olivia Clotten, Ohio State
Annie Wertheimer, Rutgers
Grace Belson, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Lilly Murphy, Indiana
Karire Evans, Iowa
Delaney Evans, Michigan
Carolynn Garner, Michigan State
Tallulah Sweet, Minnesota
Claire Holtyn, Ohio State
Emily Mahaffy, Rutgers
Macy Moser, Wisconsin